Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Doors, Skylights and Windows
Reload this Page >

Bi fold closet doors will not close all the way.

Old 02-19-14, 06:45 AM

If anyone knows anything about bi folding closet doors, please chime in. I installed new closet doors. Everything worked out great but...the doors will not close all the way. Even if I pull them out of a closet, they will not extend all the way. Did I not install hinges correctly? I follow the owners manual...any hints?

Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
Old 02-19-14, 09:00 AM
(Disclaimer: I'm not a pro, but I have installed three sets of bifold doors. My comments are based on that limited experience.)

A few questions/ thoughts/ things to check (before the pros chime in!):

When you say "the doors will not close all the way".
1) Do you mean that they don't "flatten out " completely as you try to close them?

If the answer to Q 1 is yes, have you checked to see if the doors are hitting the door frame? (Is the doorway a tiny bit too small for the doors?
Is the fitting on the fixed edge of the door far enough from the door frame?
Same question for the "stop"(?) that is at the other end of the track.[the end towards which the door edge slides]
Try all the combinations-out of doorway and off the track; out of the doorway, but still on the track; and in the doorway, but off of the track.

When you say "Even if I pull them out of a closet, they will not extend all the way."
2) Do you mean that the doors don't flatten out even if they are removed from the doorway and track?
If the answer to Q 2 is yes, then you may have a problem with the hinges.

In your close-up picture, I see little dots opposite the hinge screws. Were those marks to show where to drill for the hinges (unless the hinges came pre-installed.)?
Either way, it looks as if your screw heads extend a tiny bit beyond the plane of the hinge plates.