Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Doors, Skylights and Windows
Reload this Page >

Installing a door closer on a recessed door (on the pull side).

Old 06-08-15, 08:38 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I have a theater in my basement that is getting finished up, but I have a door problem. The door opens from the theater and swings into the snack room next door. Due to the acoustic treatments on the theater side of the door, the door frame is fairly wde. This means the door is recessed on the snack room side. Now I got some spring hinges on the door and it closes most of the way, but it doesn't quite close all the way. It rubs up against the carpet as it gets closer to closing.

I figured I would get a door closer to give it the extra force it needs to close all the way. Now I am not an expert with door closers, and I'm a little unsure of how they would be installed for my application. If I do a standard installation, does the part that attaches to the door jamb need to be flush with the door? That's what the drawings I see show, but that's not possible with the recessed door. Can it be offset enough to fit my recessed door?

Can anyone explain to me how to make this work, or alternative devices or techniques to help my door shut all the way?

Thanks.

Snack Room side (on the right) -

Here's the door in question:

Theater Side -

Sponsored Links
Old 06-08-15, 09:11 AM
Group Moderator
Received 192 Votes on 178 Posts
In your top picture I assume the door your talking about is the one on the right. Have you considered a storm door closer. They are designed to be mounted to between doors so they don't require much space to operate. You could also door closer where the body mounts to the door so only a small bracket goes to the frame.

You can also do a image search online for "door closer" and you'll see there are many styles available.

Old 06-08-15, 09:29 AM