Old wood window glazing question

Old 06-25-15, 06:43 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Old wood window glazing question

In the process of buying an older (circa 1924) home, and during our inspection noticed the widows will definitely need to be re-glazed and re-painted. I've never done this before, but I've been doing research online, watching videos and seems fairly straightforward.

I'm unsure on the steps I need to complete this. Do I scrape the window, paint with an oil-based primer then lay the bead of glaze in, or should I use linseed oil first (I was going to use DAP 33) lay in the glazing and then paint over everything with an exterior latex?

I'm also unsure if I need to remove each pane and lay down a bed first. I see several people doing it and several skipping it.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-25-15, 06:58 AM
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Straight foward but extremly labor intensive.
Once done you still have a leaky old single pane window that will have to be redone again in time.
Concidered replacement windows, there going to pay for there self in energy savings.

Old 06-25-15, 07:24 AM
Group Moderator
Received 141 Votes on 134 Posts
I apply the glazing. Let it harden to some extent depending on what paint I intend on using. Then paint. The big reason is the drying time for an oil based primer would mean the window may have to go a day or two without anything but the points holding the glass in place and with nothing to seal the panes.

I leave the glass in place and apply the glazing only on the outer surface. Once you get into the job you may realize why. Sometimes glazing comes off easily and other times it's stuck hard. So, applying glazing only to the outer surface is more for future generations that may have to work on the window and saving them the headache of scraping out even more glazing.

---