Replacing cheap windows of odd size

Old 08-10-15, 04:22 PM
Replacing cheap windows of odd size

Hi all,

I'm looking to switch out a broken window. They're very cheap and aluminum framed. I'm not experienced at this, but my guess is that the aluminum frame is simply nailed into the wood frame. I can see where the aluminum frame sits against the wood and then there's caulk on top that. No siding or anything.

The measurements for the entire opening is 70" wide and 70.5" height, wood to wood. I'm having trouble finding those window sizes, most are within an inch, but not dead on. I think I need to get two window frame sets and use some kind of rail in the middle to connect them as one.

Any advice for me?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 08-10-15, 04:29 PM
Group Moderator
My advice would be to take off any interior trim and measure the rough opening size that you have to work with on the inside of the window. Aluminum windows sometimes are stapled to a wood jamb so its possible your rough opening is 72x72. (Stud to stud)

If that is already what you have done, then sorry.

You can get a vinyl window made for whatever size you desire. If you are looking for a better window than that we can look for some options.

Old 08-10-15, 10:14 PM
I'm not 100%, but it looks like it's just nailed/stapled to the wood without a proper jamb. Is anyone able to confirm off this picture? (Sorry it's dirty, lol!)
Name:  20150810_220646.jpg
Views: 256
Size:  19.2 KB

Old 08-11-15, 12:24 AM
Super Moderator
You said no siding or anything? No exterior sheathing? Not even stucco?

Old 08-12-15, 03:44 PM
I'll attach an outside picture. The metal frame of the window seems to be the "siding" covering it.
Name:  20150812_173607.jpg
Views: 385
Size:  29.4 KB

I'm not confident what's behind the aluminum frame, but as narrow as it is and that it's flush with the drywall inside, I tend to think that it's stapled or screwed in without a surrounding jamb.

Old 08-12-15, 04:37 PM
Group Moderator