Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Replacing basement windows set in concrete


nelly42688's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 71
MA

01-12-16, 09:16 AM   #1  
Replacing basement windows set in concrete

Oh the joy! I did 1 window this past weekend and boy was it a nightmare but it raised a few questions If I can do it an easier way. Let me know your thoughts if there is an easier way?

Heres the first one we did, pretty straight forward.

Name:  IMG_1707.jpg
Views: 4290
Size:  32.3 KB

I have ideas but I wanted to see what you guys thought first.

Also, I'm not sure If I installed the head expander correctly. I just glued it on the top piece of wood.

 
Sponsored Links
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19,298
NE

01-12-16, 03:34 PM   #2  
Generally you put fiberglass between the window and the head expander (so the head expander will spring upward) then you caulk it on both sides so that it does not slip down. Some guys put a few screws into the window... I don't like to.

I'm less concerned with interior pictures than I am the exterior. Its the outside that gets beat by the wind and rain. Post more pics if you can.

 
nelly42688's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 71
MA

01-13-16, 07:26 AM   #3  
I will post when I get back home, It is not trimmed out yet, I was going to trim all the windows at once.


My idea for installing the window.

Leave the 3/4" high 2" concrete lip (on the bottom and sides), tapcon 1x4 PT onto the lip and install window via that frame.

OR, have no PT frame and install window directly into concrete via tapcons, spray foam around.

Thoughts?

 
Search this Thread