Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Doors, Skylights and Windows
Reload this Page >

old 1960s aluminum windows rattle every time i walk by them

old 1960s aluminum windows rattle every time i walk by them

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-09-16, 11:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
old 1960s aluminum windows rattle every time i walk by them

I went up to them and when i push them they move back and forth like they are loose or have no cushioning to prevent them from rattling around back and forth. They are pretty old from 1960s anyway to resolve this without replacing all the windows in my condo?

Name:  genMid.15-925257_16_0.jpg
Views: 302
Size:  31.0 KB

Thats what the windows look like.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-09-16, 11:25 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,054
Received 118 Votes on 105 Posts
Is the glass loose or all or part of the frame?
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-16, 11:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the glass itself is not loose.
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-16, 11:42 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
We're getting into two threads on this same subject. Can we keep it all in one? http://www.doityourself.com/forum/de...ated-cost.html
 
  #5  
Old 02-09-16, 12:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
These are two totally different questions... ones on enclosing the balcony the other is dealing with rattling of the windows, they do have the same picture showing the window that is used throughout the condo.
 
  #6  
Old 02-09-16, 12:19 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
OK, can we see the area in the other post showing the area where you want to install the windows? So far all we have seen is the windows in this post.
 
  #7  
Old 02-09-16, 12:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Those are the only photos i have at the moment when i get home i will take a picture of the opening, but the opening is almost exactly the width of that window in the picture just straight ahead 8 feet. I posted that picture so people can get an idea of what type of window is needed to be installed thats all.
 
  #8  
Old 02-09-16, 02:35 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,102
Received 189 Votes on 178 Posts
You can put new pile weatherstrip in the sashes, but we would need to see a close up pic of the sash edge and frame.

Also, are the windows completely closed AND LOCKED?
 
  #9  
Old 02-09-16, 02:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it looks loose int he channel wheni move it back and forth the glass part.
 
  #10  
Old 02-09-16, 03:09 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,102
Received 189 Votes on 178 Posts
Putting new pile weatherstrip on the sashes will make it fit tighter with less slop. (I'm assuming the weatherstrip on your sashes is shot.) Of course, if your sash corners are mitered, it might be difficult for you to DIY.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: