New construction window in old home

Old 03-06-16, 03:13 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question New construction window in old home

I made an impulse purchase of a few new windows and attempted to start installing them even though I have never done so before. I knew they were smaller than the opening when I purchased them but figured I could build it out. This is where I need advice!

I placed two 2x4 at the top to help fill in the gap which leaves me with about a half inch to shim top & bottom and the sides I have 1 1/12 inches on each side.

I've never installed windows before do I need more space on the top and bottom for Sheetrock or trim to slid under or does the but up against the window?

Should I use 1x4 to fill in the gaps and than foam insulation to fill the rest or do I have to buy a wider window??

I posted a picture below so maybe someone can send me in the right direction.

Name:  20160306_172257.jpg
Views: 322
Size:  28.0 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 03-06-16, 03:29 PM
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Making far more work for yourself by doing it that way.
Somethings really wrong with that part you added and the area above.
There's no double plate at the top of the wall, the wood you added should have been sitting on top of the jack studs, there's no header over the window, there needs to be cripples over the top of the window.
https://www.google.com/search?q=wind...WWSZBpXXnvM%3A
Vinyl windows are made to size at no up charge everyday.
Post a picture of the outside, that's the part that really matters.

Old 03-06-16, 03:39 PM
There is already a header there so I thought this would be ok :/. I don't have enough room to add jacks under the 2x4's. Here is a picture of the outside.

Name:  20160306_171110.jpg
Views: 394
Size:  50.7 KB

Old 03-06-16, 03:59 PM
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
You already had jacks on place, they should have been cut off 3" so the wood you added was sitting on top of them, not sitting inside of them.