Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Cutting Concrete for Egress Window

CO

03-24-16, 10:25 AM   #1  
Cutting Concrete for Egress Window

It's my first time doing an egress window. I've done tons of reading, but my wife is telling me I need to get some reassurances Her House won't collapse when I cut into the foundation

Picture of current window is attached. I will be cutting straight down apx. 36 more inches in order to put in the window. The width of the window will be maintained, but I'm making it deeper. I've rented a concrete chainsaw to cut the concrete. The first few passes I will make with an angle grinder and then circular saw. I'm doing this to put less wear on the concrete blade.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Name:  Current Window.jpg
Views: 136
Size:  46.8 KB

Last edited by PhysicsKevin; 03-24-16 at 10:28 AM. Reason: Picture rotation

Sponsored Links
Group Moderator

WI

03-24-16, 10:41 AM   #2  
Well, you're asking two questions here - how to do this and how to handle your wife. Your plan sounds fine to me, I have no idea what it's going to take with her, though.

Group Moderator

NE

03-24-16, 11:14 AM   #3  
The additional cuts you want to make are a waste of time. I have used a concrete chainsaw many times. Just hook the hose up to it and make one full width cut. Obviously tear the iron out first. Do not rock the saw like you are cutting wood. Keep the saw level and square to the house. Tell your wife that making the opening deeper is no problem... making it wider could be.