Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Doors, Skylights and Windows
Reload this Page >

Could I replace this window with a "full frame renovation" window?

Could I replace this window with a "full frame renovation" window?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-27-17, 05:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 378
Could I replace this window with a "full frame renovation" window?

I've been researching window replacement, and I came across what is called a "full frame renovation" replacement window. This unit is full frame, like a new construction unit, but has a vinyl brick moulding built in.

Anyone have experience with this type of window? Any reason it would not work for my application? Any idea on what to expect, or what out for?

Here's the window -

And here's a link to a site which describes what I'm referring to: https://www.gienow.com/window-option...es/brickmould/

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-27-17, 06:10 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,516
That would work, but it's critical that you get the correct size. 1/8" too big and it won't fit... if the opening is out of plumb it won't fit, or won't be square. Checking the masonry opening and measuring correctly are they key. You generally need to allow some room, 1/8" per side or you will have problems.

You also need to pay special attention to the kind of caulk you use around the edges (not silicone, not latex, but a polyurethane meant for expansion joints/ masonry) and the flashing details on top... drip cap with end dams to prevent water from spilling over the ends.
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-17, 06:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 378
OK, thank you. Couple of questions from that.

1) First step is to remove he existing window, all the way to the rough opening, and measure exactly, the rough opening dimensions, as well as masonry dimensions. Correct?

2) Suppose(and I assume this will come to fruition) the rough opening *is not* square and/or plumb. Then what?

3) Do you recommend any particular brand of window unit?

4) What's an average cost of a window unit like this? The window pictured is a bit smaller than the rest of the house, but I mean vaguely in general, your average window?

Thank you so much! There might be light at the end of the tunnel!
 
  #4  
Old 02-27-17, 06:30 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,516
You usually only need to remove some interior trim to determine the rough opening size. The masonry size is most important. If the masonry size (brickmould size) is, say 32x54, you need to know how much smaller the window itself will be in order to know if it will fit in your r.o. will it be 30x52, or 29x51, or what. Padding out the r.o. as needed is standard. (If it's too big on top, bottom, or sides.)

The RO does not need to be plumb or level, that's why it's a "rough" opening. But the masonry opening should be plumb and level. If it isnt, you determine how much out of plumb it is, and use that smallest dimension to measure from. So if it's 1/4" out of plumb on each side, the brickmould measurement of the window needs to be made at least 3/8" narrower than you think if you want to install the new window plumb.

No, I don't really make recommendations. There are hundreds of companies out there. Many contractors, myself included, like to stick with the big name brands like Pella, Marvin, etc... they have a proven track record and you don't have problems down the road when you need parts. Its almost impossible to get a part from a no-name company... they have a history of getting bought out, swallowed up, or going under.

Cost varies. You have to check that for yourself. Depends on if you get vinyl or aluminum, or aluminum clad wood. Might be $500-$1000 or more depending on glass options, shades, etc.
 
  #5  
Old 02-27-17, 07:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 378
Excellent information, and thank you! Last question. If I decide that I just can't afford this project to boot, if you look at the picture I posted, you see some rotted wood beneath that window. With the proper motivation, can I replace that wood *without* removal of the window?
 
  #6  
Old 02-27-17, 08:02 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,516
Possibly. Once you remove the storm window, take some pictures so we can see the extent of the damage..
 
  #7  
Old 02-27-17, 08:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 378
Will do. I'll see about yanking it off in the next couple weeks. Thanks!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes