Installing windows - suction cups?

Old 04-29-17, 05:29 PM
Installing windows - suction cups?

I have 7 windows to install - and I never intend to do this again!

I've been looking at the cheap ($~16.00) double 4" suction cup models, they claim to hold 100 lbs / suction cup. I'd probably buy two. I've also seen the more expensive vacuum style with a button to create a vacuum, but they start at $59.00 and I'd need two.

For the lower windows (3' x 2') I could probably get away with a cheap Home Depot style single-suction cup unit for the low price of $9.00, as I'd only use it to rotate the window after fastening one of the window flanges in.

The two upper windows are larger, however, with a final size of 4'x4'.

All windows will be installed from a platform - aluminum pump jacks.

Are the suction cups necessary? They look useful, but I've never done this before. The reviews are scattered online on these things, and I don't want to drop a window. I know the lower windows can be installed without suction cups.

Thanks!

John

Sponsored Links
Old 04-29-17, 06:40 PM
Hi John,
Do your windows have a built in "J" channel? If so, I did a bunch using a frame that slides into each side with a bottom and a brace across the middle. That brace was the handle to lift and guide them. Once in place the frame simply slides out the bottom.

I've used this method on both platforms and off of a ladder. With the ladder it is best to have a window open and someone on the inside so you don't have to go to the top.

You could also install a shelf right at the bottom of the window to take the weigh while you position it.

Never used the suction cups and would only consider them on a really big window. 4' x 4' is not all that big.

Bud

Old 04-29-17, 06:47 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation