Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Doors, Skylights and Windows
Reload this Page >

What's your preferred method for replacing screens?

What's your preferred method for replacing screens?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-08-20, 11:37 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What's your preferred method for replacing screens?

We have five windows that need new screens...four different sizes. What's a cost effective solution?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-08-20, 11:46 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,809
Received 938 Votes on 875 Posts
Do you have the frames and just need them re-screened or do you need entire new frames ?
 
  #3  
Old 07-08-20, 11:55 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have the frames for four of them...one is missing.
 
  #4  
Old 07-08-20, 11:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,809
Received 938 Votes on 875 Posts
I buy the screen in a roll along with the vinyl spline that holds it in place.
A very basic tool called a spline roller helps install the new spline.

Places like Ace Hardware can re-screen your frames as well as supply new frames.
 
  #5  
Old 07-08-20, 12:26 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I'll just replace the screens myself and purchase this kit for the missing frame...


 
  #6  
Old 07-08-20, 01:39 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,970
Received 52 Votes on 42 Posts
I've used kits like that a couple of times. Not great, but satisfactory. You'll need a good hacksaw to cut to size and a miter box helps cut it straight. Measure twice, cut once, and watch out for sharp edges.
 
  #7  
Old 07-08-20, 03:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,809
Received 938 Votes on 875 Posts
You'll need a new 32TPI (32 teeth per inch) hacksaw blade.
 
  #8  
Old 07-08-20, 05:47 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,503
Received 175 Votes on 157 Posts
Most screen material is aluminum and will cut like butter on a miter saw with a carbide blade.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: