Installing Window Curtains

Old 10-05-09, 10:44 PM
X
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installing Window Curtains

Hi,

I'm a brand new noob, to both this forum and DIY around the house. So please bear with me. I'm trying to do a pretty simple thing here, installing some curtains. I get stuck trying to install the curtain rod holder. Every place where I try to screw the holder in place using a #6 Drywall 1-1/4in fine threaded screw, the screw goes in about 3/4 of the way, and then it hits something hard, and it just stops. I've tried using my power tools to screw it in, on maximum power, and it just spins and goes no where. My stud finder says there's a stud right where I'm drilling. But I can't seem to get through. For all my troubles, al I've got is 4 unsightly holes on the wall.

Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong? Thanks!

Xin Li

Old 10-06-09, 06:41 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
You might have had some bad luck & hit a nail in the stud. It happens. I would be using anchors for that job. They are small plastic things that get inserted after you drill a hole. Then a matching size screw goes through the bracket & into the anchor. Home Depot or your local hardware store have what you need.

Old 10-06-09, 07:49 AM
X
Thanks for the reply. Am I really so unlucky that all four holes managed to hit nails? Assuming that's the case, what is an anchor exactly and how does it manage to stay in the wall securely? Because the nails after drilling 3/4 of the way through is pretty loose and I can pull it free with very little force. Thanks again.

Xin

Old 10-06-09, 11:34 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
SUPER PLASTIC ANCHOR

That's ^^ what an anchor looks like. It expands when the screw is inserted. Those are what you needed in the first place. Drywall was never meant to hold any weight just by putting a nail or screw in it.

As a side note, the only time I try to find a stud is if I'm hanging a flat screen TV or something really heavy.

Old 10-06-09, 12:03 PM
Super Moderator