Puckered seams on drapes

Old 06-20-14, 01:20 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Puckered seams on drapes

I had draperies made, and the seamstress said they would hang straight after a while due to the weight of the fabric. (It is a 60-40 cotton-poly blend, Duralee 32171.)

But after a month they are not hanging straight, and I now see that every seam is puckered, almost shirred.

Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 1023
Size:  22.8 KB

I plan to ask for a re-do or a refund, but first I wanted to check with DIY-ers.

1. Is this some sort of design aesthetic that I was unaware of? To me it just looks incompetent and unprofessional.

2. Is this repairable? If so, what exactly should I have the seamstress do?

I will be grateful for any input.

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 06-20-14, 01:57 PM
Super Moderator
Received 51 Votes on 39 Posts
Well, I'm not a DIY'er, I'm a professional curtainmaker
It looks like an unprofessional, bad sewing job. Without looking at it up close, I'm not sure if it was sewed with too small stitches, overly tight tension, or whether they just pressed the seam and the fabric shrunk.
Either way, it will not hang straight after a while. Surprised they told you this and even gave it to you like this.
If it's the sewing, then it just needs to be ripped out and resewn correctly, but if it shrank, it would need to have some of that cut off, then resewn. That however, would make it a smaller width and not sure how much you can spare. Looking at the pics, I think a restitching should help. If that doesn't help, then they should be made over. It would be up to you whether to have them do it again, or return them and get your money back and find someone else.
Was this a professional workroom or someone that sews on the cheap? I ask because it doesn't look very professional.

Old 06-20-14, 02:13 PM
Puckered seams on drapes

Many thanks for your input, Shadeladie.