Moving Duct Work

Old 02-26-04, 10:14 AM
wayfarer777
Visiting Guest
Moving Duct Work

I currently have a cold air return on a half wall in my living room. I will be removing the half wall, and thus will have a hole for the cold air return in the floor, which runs into the basement. My house was built in 1979, so the "duct" in the basement is simply a piece of metal flashing attached across the joists in the basement, which leads to the furnace. I was going to simply patch the hole in the floor and cover it with the flooring I'm installing and open up the duct work, which is in the basement, to pull air from the basement, rather than from the living room. I don't see an issue with this, but then again I'm a novice to this stuff and wanted to ask the experts. I live in Littleton, Colorado, so if anyone knows about the local codes in my area, that would help. And any advice is appreciated.

My other option would be to cover the hole in the floor with a grate of some kind, but I'd rather not have something like that in my living room. There is another return in dining room. The square footage for this level is only 600sf. Is there a minimum number of Sq. Ft. per return?

Thanks,
Kevin
wayfarer007@netzero.net

Old 02-26-04, 11:02 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The way things are Id check on code there for sure. You dont say how many heat outlets do you have there in the 6oo sq ft? If you put it in the basement how would the air get to it from up there ????Try and see how hard does the blower pull air from there now when on???? ED

Old 02-26-04, 01:07 PM
wayfarer777
Visiting Guest
I have 4 heat outlets on that main floor.

I'm not sure what you mean by: "If you put it in the basement how would the air get to it from up there ????"

Does it matter where the cold air return brings in the air from? I mean as long as it's getting air from inside the house, does it effect furnace performance?