Asbestos ducts

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-08-04, 06:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Asbestos ducts

I am having a new gas forced air heater installed. The ducting is about 40 years old and is wrapped with asbestos. It is installed in a small attic about 18 high. From what little I can see it looks in ok shape. What is the useful life of these ducts and do they need to be replaced because of the asbestos?

Thanks
Charlie
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-09-04, 09:38 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Are you sure it asbestos?? Any furnace you have in an attic the duct would have to have insulation on it or back that far we did have duct board that ducts are made out of.
Asbestos itself is not and insulation


ED
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-04, 09:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was told by 2 heating contractors that it is asbestos. It is 40 years old I would like to know the life expectancy of the air ducts. Like I said they appear to be in good shape and I read everywhere it is best to leave them alone.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-04, 10:32 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Yes let it alone . Like to know if it has any insulation on it at all are is it just like a paper cover on it?

ED
 
  #5  
Old 07-09-04, 10:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It looks like a paper cover.
I have 2 more questions.
1 Is it likely the ducts rust throught exposing the asbestos where they connect.

2 How long on average do these ducts last.
 
  #6  
Old 07-10-04, 01:44 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Ill say this :you cant just run furnace ducts in the attic with just a sheet of asbestos on them and say thats insulation. Did any one say that they would recover them ??

ED
 
  #7  
Old 07-10-04, 02:28 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,147
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
just a thought

have them covered with mastic, this will form a cast, them insulate with duct wrap. no easy way out here. what do the contractors say about the other homes in your area? what have they done there? yours is not the first they have seen.
 
  #8  
Old 07-10-04, 03:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My duct work was done about 1966 and the house was built in 1952. The origanal heat was 2 gas wall heaters and this was added buy the home owner at the time. So this is a unique instalation.
 
  #9  
Old 07-10-04, 03:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 50
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One more question

One thing I would like to know from any experts out there. If I seal the outside of the ducts that takes care of that side. Do I need to worry about the asbestos getting to the inside of the ducts? Does the metal crack or rust over time. Lets say the next 10 years?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: