Electronic Air Cleaner Problems


  #1  
Old 03-01-05, 08:47 PM
dj_kell
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Electronic Air Cleaner Problems

I just bought a house in which a old Sears Electronic Air Cleaner is installed. I have very little experience with these devices, and with the amount of dust in my house, I am not even sure if it is working. My friend had one and I seem to remember it zapping quite often where as mine only zapped after I washed it, and then only for a couple minutes Are there any tests I can do to see if it is working, or is there anywhere I can get a manual on it?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 03-02-05, 02:07 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

with the amount of dust in my house, I am not even sure if it is working.
mine only zapped after I washed it, and then only for a couple minutes
That is why we take out more EAC than we put in. People dont keep them clean so they dont work as they should. Take it out and go with a good pleater filter there, might also look at http://www.puracleanspray.com you put a little on the new pleated filter it also helps. Check the blower wheel and see that the blades are clean. Then the AC coil and see if its clean. If that filter has been in there long for sure check all the above.

ED
 
  #3  
Old 03-02-05, 04:09 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am with Ed on this..

Turn off the EAC and pull the cells.. You can find media filters that will fit most unit.. Your's maybe 20 by 25 by 4"... If so, then you can go to a home center like Home Depot and get the media filter.
 
  #4  
Old 03-03-05, 08:41 AM
dj_kell
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I changed out the EAC last night, thanks for all your help
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-08, 03:04 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electronic Air Cleaner Circuit Board Needed

I have an old Sears brand electronic air cleaner that is attached to the furnace. It stopped working and I discovered the problem is a bad circuit board. 2.5 inch x 2.5 inch square. Part No. 859-0253 DY-11; If anyone knows where I can get this board please reply. Sears does not have it.
 

Last edited by Warcards; 06-09-08 at 03:17 PM. Reason: Wrong Title
  #6  
Old 06-09-08, 07:12 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Pleated filter!
 
  #7  
Old 06-11-08, 06:42 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Information For Warcards

Pleated filter - Dahhh... The correct answer is Air Flow Switch Board. You can find a replacement for that circuit board at: www.ontimemall.com Hope this is helpful!
 
  #8  
Old 06-13-08, 11:43 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Circuit Board

I found the circuit board that I needed at the web site you gave. Thanks Mike 9001.
 
  #9  
Old 01-10-09, 12:33 PM
5
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Washington
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have the same old Sears air cleaner and am looking for that same part 859-0253. Went to the web site Mike 9001 recommended but couldn't find it based on the part number. Any suggestions. And did the part replacement work.

Thanks for any help.
5rudbergs
 
  #10  
Old 02-01-14, 07:02 AM
Q
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fixing One Now

I got a new air flow switch for my Sears EAC from Pex Supply. I shopped around and they had the best price. The part has been updated, new part number is 859-0381.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: