I can hear (but feel no) air in vent

Old 06-11-05, 08:01 PM
yks
Visiting Guest
I can hear (but feel no) air in vent

I'm new at this, so sorry if I'm not using the correct terminology.

All vents in the house have air coming out of them except three. The only one that I care about is the one in the 2nd floor bathroom attached to a bedroom that only has one working air vent. However, air coming out of that bedroom vent is so little that it doesn't cool the room (it's 10 degrees warmer in that room than the rest of the house). I hear air blowing in the bathroom vent, but there is NO air coming out of it. To help cool the bedroom, I need that air. Help!

Old 06-12-05, 08:28 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not seeing your home, hard to say.. I'd look for the folliwing things.

is the bathroom vent sharing another vent??

Where are the duct in teh attic or between the upper and main floor?

Is there a main trunk from the basement feeding up stairs or have a main trunk in the attic?

We need more info.

Old 06-12-05, 01:49 PM
yks
Visiting Guest
is the bathroom vent sharing another vent??
Actually, there is a ceiling vent. In my original email when I said 'vent', I actually meant a register (is that the correct term?). It's the air register that heat and air conditioning should be coming out of. So, no, it is not shared.

Where are the duct in teh attic or between the upper and main floor?
How would I be able to determine where all the ducts are? I pulled the register cover off and all I can tell is that there is an elbow, so it seems that the ductwork may be going under the floor (so the floor of the 2nd floor or ceiling of the main floor).

Is there a main trunk from the basement feeding up stairs or have a main trunk in the attic?
The main truck is feeding from the basement.