Old FAG Furnace needs new filters

Old 12-03-05, 05:48 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Old FAG Furnace needs new filters

Greetings,

I'm a newbie here so please correct my posting errors.
Here goes...I have an old house with a 1958 FAG conversion burner.

Runs very well and my gas bill is within reason. Currently there are three electrostatic filters installed. They install in a triangle above the blower. However, at the top there is a 2" gap where the back filter shoyuld meet with the front filters.

I'm seeing from some threads that I've read that they may not be the best choice and I'm concerned about the gap. If I simply replaced the 14x25x1 filter with a 16 it would fill the gap.

What should I buy for filters?

Thanks,

Jim

Old 12-04-05, 06:43 AM
You are doing the right thing by getting rid of those electrstic filters..

A low end pleated filters will work out best for you.. You can get a 3 pack of these filters at Home Depot about $10.

Good that you are closing the gaps off. do you have A/C on this furnace?

Where are you from? Most of the time when someone has these old furnace the gas bill out of control.

Old 12-04-05, 04:27 PM
S
Originally Posted by Jay11J
You are doing the right thing by getting rid of those electrstic filters..

A low end pleated filters will work out best for you.. You can get a 3 pack of these filters at Home Depot about $10.

Good that you are closing the gaps off. do you have A/C on this furnace?

Where are you from? Most of the time when someone has these old furnace the gas bill out of control.
Jay,

Thanks for the info. Do you have a brand to recommend? I'm in Seattle and right now it's 40 F outside. We don't get much colder very often.

No A/C in the house. Are media filters too costly for an older setup like I've got??

Thanks for your help

Old 12-04-05, 07:42 PM
I am drawning a blank on the brand.. It's not the 3M one.. It has a green lable on it. and comes in pack of 3, that are sold at Home Depot about $10