New Ductwork or not?

Old 09-24-06, 08:42 PM
L
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New Ductwork or not?

New poster so please be gentle and sorry for some of the unprofessional descriptions in my post...I'm somewhat new to the whole home fixin's

Background: Live in Tampa, FL area, with an average temperature of freakin' hot for most of the year
My wife and I previously had a ~20-25 year old 2.5 Ton condenser and air handler. It kept going out about twice a year so we decided to bite the bullet and purchase a new unit. As it was uncomfortably hot in the 3 rooms farthest from the air handler (which made sense as the air had to travel much farther to get to those rooms) and we wanted to send air to the Florida room (so we could get more use out of it), we decided to get a larger unit. We ended up getting a 3.5 Ton condenser and air handler. Our living space was ~1600 SF originally, and with the florida room it was ~2000 SF. The contractor had also suggested that we upgrade the ductwork, but the a/c units were a large chunk of money so we decided to opt for just upgrading those then doing the ductwork later.

The rooms farthest from the air handler still seem warm so we decided to get the guy back out to give us an estimate on the ductwork. He said that we needed to upgrade our old ductwork from insulated metal to the newer ductwork (that insulated flex pipe stuff). He also stated that the ducts we currently have were used for heating not really for cooling (which *could* make sense as the older couple that owned our house before us may have been old school Floridians that just used the ceiling fans to keep them somewhat cool rather than the a/c units).

We've noticed quite a bit of sweating around the plenum coming from the air handler which we have been told is also related to the old, incorrectly sized ductwork

OK, finally to the question: