Retrofitting a filter rack?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-14-06, 12:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Retrofitting a filter rack?

My furnace has no filter rack. The guy who istalled it 11 years ago told us to install hog's hair filters in the two floor return ducts. But we have never had good success with this. The floor ducts were not designed for filters and everything I have tried has resulted in a lot of air bypassing the filters. What I would like to do is retrofit my furnace for a filter and get a high quality replaceable media filter for it. Is it possible to do this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-14-06, 12:52 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Yes you can . But we dont know just what you have there in room for it Can you post picture of it??? Lots of times if you have a cold air drop along side the furnace and it goes to the blower under the furnace . Get a 1" filter hold it to the side of the duct lean over to the furnace mark it and cut the 1" out the filter should slide in this.Hard to tell how when you cant draw it. Are you sure the furnace dont have a filter rack ????

ED
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-06, 03:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ed, and thanks for the reply! I will try to get a pic later, but I can tell you for certain that there is no rack. What I have is a cold air return cutout on the right side of the furnace. The blower is on the side, facing the opening. Just from eyeballing it, I figure there is room to install a 1" filter but not enough for one of those real thick ones.
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-06, 04:09 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Do you have a cold air duct on that side and it drops down along the side of the furnace. how big is it?

ED
 
  #5  
Old 10-15-06, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, the cold air duct is 24" wide by 8" deep.
 
  #6  
Old 10-15-06, 10:00 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Get a 24X24 X1 filter. Now on the cold air drop on the right of the furnace. On the 8" side hold the filter edge on it. With the bottom at the right hand side of the duct. The top of the filter at a angle over to the left side of the duct. Draw this out on the duct and cut that 1" out. the filter should just slide in.

ED
 
  #7  
Old 10-16-06, 05:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hmmm.... I had to think about that a few minutes but I see what you are suggesting. That seems to be a very simple and elegant solution. No need to worry about brackets or flanges because gravity and the flow of air would tend to keep the filter in place at a about a 15 degree angle within the return air duct.

I assume for this to work you would need a filter with a rigid frame as opposed to a cardboard frame, right? I would think that a flimsy filter would tend to collapse on the unsupported side and allow air leakage.
 
  #8  
Old 10-16-06, 12:56 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

No the cardboard frame holds up real good as the bottom edge is on the bottom and wall of the duct and the top is held to the other wall of the duct. We cut down in that 1" angle in the middle of it then bend by hand that 1/2" over 180o to make a hem edge on the top and bottom of it. if you cant do that cut the 1" out clean then put a slip on the top and bottom of the cut. ( a slip is like a Z flat).

ED
 
  #9  
Old 10-16-06, 04:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I get it. I'm glad you mentioned the hem edge -- I probably wouldn't have thought of that. One more question... what tool / technique do you use to get a clean straight cut in the sheet metal? I appreciate your help and patience Ed!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: