Duct humidifer?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-16-06, 05:30 PM
dcolucci's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 67
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Duct humidifer?

Should I add a whole house humidifier to my heat pump? Will it actually make it "feel" warmer in the house at lower temps? Also, if I do add it, I've heard its better to tap the hot water line. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.
 
  #2  
Old 10-16-06, 10:27 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

For sure you need one. Get a good one. Put it on the cold air drop. Yes tie the water line into a hot water line.
Yes it will make you feel warmer and you will push the tstat down some.
A aprilaire 600 or 700 are good.

ED
 
  #3  
Old 10-17-06, 03:04 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: us
Posts: 91
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
what is the difference in bypass humidifers and on that are not bypass?
 
  #4  
Old 10-17-06, 03:14 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Here the 600 is a by pass You put it on the cold air drop and a small pipe comes out of it and goes into the heat plenum this way air comes out of the furnace and goes over to it and back into the cold air. The 700 takes air in and out of the cold air are heat plenum with its small blower. I have a 700 on my plenum and it is working real good.

ED
 
  #5  
Old 10-17-06, 03:25 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: us
Posts: 91
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i have a 2 ton unit do these 2 models work for that size?
 
  #6  
Old 10-17-06, 09:32 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Sure will . You can set them for the % of humidity you want.

ED
 
  #7  
Old 10-19-06, 06:23 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: us
Posts: 91
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i know the 600 is a bypass unit but the 700 is a fan type , my question is can it be mounted on the plentum because i don't have a return designated drop there is to ducts that go to a box under the furnace.
 
  #8  
Old 10-19-06, 11:13 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

The 700 with its small fan pulls air into it and back into the plenum .
I have a 700 on my plenum and it is working real good.


ED
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: