Wide open return in basement - seal it?

Old 03-25-08, 07:35 PM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wide open return in basement - seal it?

Hello! I have no experience in HVAC and was curious about a wide open return in my basement.

I have a ranch style home that was built in the 70's. The HVAC system's main return duct in the basement is wide open at the end near the wall. It bothers me and I have this urge to seal it. It looks like the installers forgot to close it up. However, I have 10 registers and 4 returns (not including the open "return" in the basement).

Does it make sense for me to seal the wide open end of the main return duct in the basement? Is it dangerous ? From some of the posts I've read (not too many), I'm wondering if I should leave it open because the 4 returns would really have to be pulling in a lot of air to compensate for the total amount of registers, right? None of the 4 small (normal) returns are in the basement.

Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any advice...

Chris

Old 03-26-08, 06:04 AM
If you are supplying conditioned air down there then leave it. You will have a nice place down there with it. Closing it up could cause low flow issues across the coil/heat exchanger.

Old 03-26-08, 11:26 AM
R
I would leave it open. Your unit also probably supplies heat and by leaving that return open, it will help to keep your basement temp balanced along with circulated air. That is important for basement air(mildew, stale, humidity). If the looks bothers you, put a grill on it.

Old 03-26-08, 11:45 AM
C
Thanks

Thanks for the comments. Based on what you said, I'll leave it open. Thanks...

Old 03-26-08, 03:45 PM
O
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
The one question nobody has asked is, do you have adequate return air flow from upstairs with the duct open?

Old 03-26-08, 07:38 PM
C
oneofamill,