Required Return Intake Size


  #1  
Old 04-21-08, 02:32 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool Required Return Intake Size

I'm putting new cabinets in my kitchen and one of the walls I'm was trying to remove or move has the furnace return filter and intake box in it. How can I determine how much of the box I can remove or how do I determine the size of the intake box needed by my system?
 
  #2  
Old 04-22-08, 05:02 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Return should not be in a Kitchen!
 
  #3  
Old 04-24-08, 09:07 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Like said why is it there??? Do you have more returns that you might close it off??? Make sure you still have enough return there.
 
  #4  
Old 05-10-08, 07:42 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just curious. Why should there not be return in the kitchen?

I was considering putting a return in our kitchen ceiling because that part of the house gets very hot in the summer. The kitchen, breakfast nook and living room are basically all one room and there is no return in any of them. The ceiling is vaulted and is about 12 feet high. Is this a bad idea? Any other suggestions?
 
  #5  
Old 05-10-08, 09:57 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Your rooms are hot because of equipment or duct that is not sized correctly. We don't put returns in kitchen because we don't won't grease and smoke in the duct going to the rest of the home.
 
  #6  
Old 05-11-08, 07:00 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The equipment is properly sized (per my heat gain study last summer), but all of my returns are on one side of the house and are within 10 feet of each other. I was considering blocking one off and adding an additional return (same size as the one blocked off) near the kitchen (side of the house with no returns).

I was also told (by HVAC guy) that we have too many registers for our 2.5 ton unit.
 
  #7  
Old 05-12-08, 04:39 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Did you do a manual D.
 
  #8  
Old 05-12-08, 05:49 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No. What is a manual D?
 
  #9  
Old 05-12-08, 06:54 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Manual D is for sizing and lying out duct work.
 
  #10  
Old 05-12-08, 09:33 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh, then yes I had that done last summer. That's when I found out that my supply trunk was too large and has too many registers for my system. The HVAC guy suggested reducing some of the branches (from 6" to 5") and adding a return on the other side of the house. The only other option was to tear out the entire supply line and start over.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: