Cold room 'fridge'

Old 04-23-08, 02:12 PM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cold room 'fridge'

Hi, We have a cold room under our front porch - maybe 8' x 10', concrete walls, steel door to the basement, couple of open vents high up on one wall.

Currently it gets too cold in the winter, and too hot in the summer. Plus I understand mold is a big problem with such rooms. So it's not really functional right now.

I'm wondering if its possible to essentially turn it into a walk-in 'fridge'. So I want the temperature to be much better controlled, and the mold prevented (as much as possible).

My thoughts are to put up vapor barrier and insulation, and probably a ceiling fan. But I have no experience with this, so could be way off ...

And ideas on how I should go about this?

Thanks,
Glen.

Old 04-23-08, 03:42 PM
Super Moderator
Received 52 Votes on 48 Posts
Thumbs up Hello Glen.........Welcome to our forums!

What makes a traditional cold room work is the close contact the walls of the room have with the supposedly stable temperature of the ground.
The problem with yours is that it is not deep enough into the ground.

A way you might be able to stabilize the temperature is to insulate the entire room but only the top half up to a depth of about four feet below the surface of the ground.
Leave the bottom half of the room and floor uninsulated.

If after doing this the temperature is not what you want then natural cooling is not in the cards.

To turn this space into a walk in cooler you would need to insulate the room and properly install a vapor barrier and use mechanical cooling to lower the temperature.

The mechanical cooling would pretty much have to be a refrigeration unit designed for this purpose.
There are some who as a hobby endevour try to use a small a/c unit for the mechanical cooling but they experience very mixed results.

The mold is very hard to comment on with the limited info we have.