Is it safe to use aluminum tape on flexible air duct?


  #1  
Old 08-26-08, 01:25 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Is it safe to use aluminum tape on flexible air duct?

Hello,

Due to a water incident in my house, the outside and inside liner of a flexible air duct was slashed open (about 1 to 2 inches) to check for dampness. Since it was found to be dry, is it safe to use Intertape aluminum foil tape (ASTM E84 Rated) to seal/tape this cut (both inside liner and outside liner)? or do I need to replace the entire flexible air duct?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
 
  #2  
Old 08-30-08, 11:34 AM
Jarredsdad's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Troy, VA
Posts: 1,392
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
That should work. Might also see about getting a small tub of airseal duct mastic to put over it patch. While you have the mastic out, it would be a good idea to check all connections and mastic them also.
 
  #3  
Old 08-30-08, 07:21 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Jarredsdad thank you for your response. I appreciate it.
 
  #4  
Old 08-30-08, 09:17 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 438
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Air Conditioning Help

Make sure to put hangers on both sides of your patch to take any pressure off the duct because a tear in flex duct with any pressure on it will continue to seperate
 
  #5  
Old 08-31-08, 06:57 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,491
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Flex duct is so cheap and easy to install Id replace it.
 
  #6  
Old 09-05-08, 10:46 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 30
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks Mike N and Airman.1994. I appreciate everyone's suggestions.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: