Moving Furnace/Air conditioner to Attic


  #1  
Old 09-15-08, 09:53 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 108
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Moving Furnace/Air conditioner to Attic

Hi All.

We have a 5-ton Trane system which is currently in the garage the furnace and a-coil. Condenser sits outside of course. We need to move the furnace/a-coil to the attic for several reasons.

What is the the best place in the attic to position the unit with respect to noise? Should it be mounted on some type of platform that can absorb vibrations?

Thanks,
JOseph
 
  #2  
Old 09-17-08, 07:52 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 39 Upvotes on 31 Posts
For best noise isolation it should be hung from the rafters using spring suspension mounts and the ductwork should have flexible connectors. Make sure any electrical and fuel connections are by means of code-approved flexible connectors.
 
  #3  
Old 09-18-08, 08:38 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 438
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hang ups

And when you hang the auxiliary drain pan make sure if the unit is sitting in it that cork pads (rubber & cork) are under it just be sure to keep metal from touching metal and you should be fine.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: