Trane Air Handler runs continually


  #1  
Old 03-18-15, 09:00 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane Air Handler runs continually

2 story house with full basement, built 2012. Trane components. Heat pump and a.c. units outside. Gas-fired furnace in basement, air handler in the attic. 2 zones. Basement and 1st floor on zone 1. Upstairs is zone 2.
The air handler in the attic will not shut off. All the thermostats are off, but it still pushes air through the upstairs registers.
When the upstairs thermostat was on, it pushed air, even when the actual temp was above the thermostat setting. The thermostat fan is set at auto at all times. I pulled the breaker for the air handler and left it off for 30 minutes, but the handler started up as soon as I threw the breaker back on. Thoughts?
 
  #2  
Old 03-18-15, 09:11 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
We will need the model number to help you.
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-15, 09:49 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The air handler model number is 2/4tec3f42c1000a.
the furnace model # is uc1d100a9601a.
 
  #4  
Old 03-18-15, 10:52 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Those numbers are a bit confusing. Both describe 2 different furnaces. The UC is a gas furnace. The TEC is electric. The TEC uses a relay to start the fan, the UC uses a control board. Is there a gas line going to the furnace.
Try removing the G wire in the furnace and see if that stops the fan. Let us know what happens.
 
  #5  
Old 03-18-15, 12:31 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My bad, gave the wrong model number of the furnace.
Got this inside the front panel that hides the motor....tuc1b080a9421ae.
It is a natural gas unit and the air handler is electric. It does have a refrigerant that connects to the outside a.c. unit.
By g wire, I assume you mean the green ground wire? It is screwed to the back panel that the furnace blower motor is attached to.
 
  #6  
Old 03-18-15, 02:20 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, I mean the G terminal on the control board.
 
  #7  
Old 03-19-15, 09:44 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you sure that while the thermostats are off the fan is also off? Only reason I ask is I recently had a new Heat pump / Gas furnace installed and I purposely set the fan to always be on. This is set very low so you can barely hear it but having continual airflow through the house helps to keep the temperature balanced. Maybe they did something similar with yours?
 
  #8  
Old 03-21-15, 09:12 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I pulled the g wire on the furnace control panel, but the air handler continues to run.
Shaun4912.....i see your point, but the continual running is a new issue.
 
  #9  
Old 03-21-15, 10:16 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like its time for a new control board.
 
  #10  
Old 03-24-15, 12:07 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i've been browsing parts and i see that the air handler has a control board similar to the control board in the furnace unit. which would be the more likely culprit? before i start ordering stuff, would it be worth pulling the g wire in the air handler control board, or is that function handled at the furnace unit?
 
  #11  
Old 03-25-15, 01:57 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm a little confused, the air handler and furnace are the same thing. So I'm not sure what you have. Can you post some pics.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: