Venting range hood through a supporting wall up through the roof

Old 03-26-16, 07:57 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Venting range hood through a supporting wall up through the roof

I'm trying to figure out how to vent the new range hood that I will be installing during our kitchen remodel. It's an under-cabinet hood and the install location is one a supporting wall. I want to use the hood's rear vent option and vent it into the wall, and then up through the wall all the way to the roof. The specs call for a 3 1/4" x 10" rectangular vent and I'm wondering if I can even do that in a supporting wall, because it seems like I'd have to cut away almost the entire section of the wall's top plates (it's a 2x4 wall) to get the vent up through the top of the wall, and wouldn't that have a negative affect on the supporting aspect of the wall? I'm new to this type of work so I'd really appreciate any guidance on this matter.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-26-16, 08:59 AM
Group Moderator
Received 644 Votes on 596 Posts
You generally want to go out the top of the hood and up through the back of the cabinet... through the ceiling.

Old 03-26-16, 09:04 AM
Where do you plan to vent the 3.25 x 10 duct to the exterior? The roof?
Is this a one-story house?

If you're going up through the roof, I recommend you top vent with 7" round duct (a very few are 6")

This takes up space in the upper cabinet but is the ideal way to duct. I install many hoods and microwave hoods and rear venting is a last resort, unless it is directly through an exterior wall.

Edit: Xsleeper is spot on, it doesn't matter if you use 7" or 3.25 x 10, as long as it's inside the upper cabinet.

Old 03-26-16, 09:29 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,045 Votes on 969 Posts
I read this as an inside wall. Running the duct up thru the cabinet into the floor above would be an issue. This method would require the duct to be boxed out on the second floor to the attic.

Old 03-26-16, 09:47 AM