Condensate pump safety switch - AC & Humidifier


  #1  
Old 12-27-16, 06:30 AM
scoob8000's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 208
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Condensate pump safety switch - AC & Humidifier

I just replaced my condensate pump, and I'd really like to wire in the safety switch.

I'd like it to shutdown the AC and my whole house humidifier (but not heat.. Afraid if pump fails during the winter and we're out of town, the house could freeze.)

The humidifier is standalone to the furnace. It has it's own 24v transformer. There is a pressure switch in the duct work that powers the transformer whenever there is air moving. The low voltage from the transformer goes to a humidistat and then to the solenoid valve. I could easily break the wire there.

But then what about the AC?

The only thing I can come up with involves powering a relay thru the safety switch and I can break the humidifier feed, and AC Y wire at the same time. Something like: this

Any simpler/better options?
 
  #2  
Old 12-27-16, 06:46 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,181
Received 124 Votes on 118 Posts
Pull a wire off R, run through the float switch and to a double pole single throw 24V relay. Put Y going through one pole and a humidifier through the other.
This does create some things that are more complex then needed.
Is this unit a condensing furnace? Is there a reason the switch may open when running heat?
 
  #3  
Old 12-27-16, 06:52 AM
scoob8000's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 208
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Not a condensing furnace, the only time the pump would run in winter is when the humidifier is running.
 
  #4  
Old 12-27-16, 09:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,651
Received 1,611 Votes on 1,483 Posts
The 90-340 would be a good choice for what you want to do.
 
  #5  
Old 12-27-16, 02:23 PM
scoob8000's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 208
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Am I over-complicating things by doing this?


The likelihood of us going away when it's cold enough, and for the house to freeze because of a pump failure are pretty slim. Especially if I make a mental note to just turn off the humidity.

Vs

Worse case if the relay fail, I won't have cooling or humidification. Not the end of the world. Long as I keep my wiring neat and labeled, it shouldn't be too bad for someone to figure out what's going on.
 
  #6  
Old 12-27-16, 03:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,651
Received 1,611 Votes on 1,483 Posts
Am I over-complicating things by doing this?
Only you can answer that.

If the system is installed where water from the condensate pump could cause damage.... then you need to address it.
 
  #7  
Old 12-28-16, 06:06 AM
scoob8000's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 208
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I think I'm going to go ahead and go with the 90-340 route. There's a perfect mounting spot for it right next to the board/transformer in my furnace.

Should I just tap directly off the transformer, or would I be better off feeding the relay coil from the R and C terminals?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: