Basement return


  #1  
Old 07-22-17, 05:28 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Basement return

So ive been reading online and read mixed things. I have 6 supplies on my first floor and 4 returns. In the basement I have 2 supplies (right next to each other on a corner wall and 1 return.

I keep the supplies closed because if I don't I get very minimal airflow upstairs.

That leads me to the return in the basement, block it or keep it open if I have the supplies closed?

After all these years I cant find a happy medium for the basement/airflow upstairs and it's maddening. With the supplies closed downstairs the airflow upstairs is great. As soon as I so much crack open the supplies downstairs (via damper on duct) the airflow upstairs goes to crap!
 
  #2  
Old 07-22-17, 05:45 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I can't see any reason to block the return lines. How is the temp on the first floor?
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-17, 06:20 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Itll reach thermostat level (74 on ac) itll run for about 10-13minutes (same with heat on 70) with the basement vents closed. If they are open then unit will run for like 30 minutes
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-17, 06:31 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did the problem just start? How long have you been there?
 
  #5  
Old 07-23-17, 07:15 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nope the problem has been persistent all 8 years or so Ive been here.

The finished basement has a huge branch from the trunk in the unfinished basement all to itself so it gets insane airflow if you open it.

Im just trying to figure out the best methods but opening it just destroys airflow upstairs
 
  #6  
Old 07-23-17, 07:27 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it possible that the problem didn't exist until someone finished the basement? Building walls could have interrupted the original air flow design.
 
  #7  
Old 07-23-17, 07:41 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Maybe. If I had to guess it was added on simply based on the fact there's baseboard heat in the basement.
 
  #8  
Old 07-23-17, 07:58 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 785
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just from what you have said so far, I think that there were changes made to the house which caused the problem. If a wall was built that could have interrupted the air flow, a vent in that wall might solve it. Before you do that or anything else, it might pay to have someone who actually designs AC systems, look at it. Get a price for the consultation first.
 
  #9  
Old 07-24-17, 04:11 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
If the supply's are closed then the return will not pull anything unless you have leaks in the duct or air coming from upstairs.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: