Cold Air Return Duct - in Furnace Room?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-18, 07:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 186
Cold Air Return Duct - in Furnace Room?

Our house was built in 1975. Our basement furnace room has a 4" cold air return duct branching out from the cold air return plenum, and I capped off this duct years ago as I thought it wasn't needed (see pic).


There is a 5" warm air vent pipe about 3 feet away from the cap I installed...

I want to cover up this ceiling with paneling but I'm wondering if this duct should be open. Comments?
 

Last edited by Howitzer; 12-14-18 at 09:48 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-16-18, 04:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 487
Any room or area you want to heat or at least maintain some heat in, needs a return air duct plus at least 1 supply duct. Every basement should have at least 1 supply and 1 return to move and exchange some of it"s air for temperature and quality.
 
  #3  
Old 12-16-18, 07:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 186
Thanks for replying! Our furnace room is in the north-west corner of our basement. Years ago, I installed a cold air return in the approximate centre of our basement which is apart of our main area rumpus room. So I do have a cold area return vent in our basement.

I just find it odd that a cold air return duct is installed in the ceiling joists where there isn't much circulation and where warm air would collect (warm air rises).
 
  #4  
Old 12-16-18, 07:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 186
Should I remove the cap that I installed?
 
  #5  
Old 12-31-18, 06:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 487
If you are looking to make the basement area warmer say to use as living space. doing it right will need a lot more ducts or outlets. As an example, go upstairs and count the number of warm air and cold air registers/grills. That is how many you need to heat that floor correctly. That is probably how many registers/grills you will need on each floor including the basement. Remember, you can't heat the basement like a normal floor unless you have enough supplies and returns . And some of the returns must be at floor level to remove the cooler air that lurks there. (cold air falls and warm air rises)
 
  #6  
Old 04-29-19, 11:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 186
I am warming up this old post (I hope this is ok)... Should I post a picture of my ducting setup?
 
  #7  
Old 04-29-19, 12:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 186
Picture!

See attached picture. I hope it is clear enough.

Name:  ducting.jpg
Views: 76
Size:  141.2 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-29-19 at 02:52 PM. Reason: resized picture
  #8  
Old 04-29-19, 02:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,021
Likes Received: 168
It's your thread..... you can refresh it any time.

I see your cold air ducting with cap. Is that connected to the furnace return ?
What is that large round connection/duct to the right ?
 
  #9  
Old 04-29-19, 04:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 186
Yes the capped pipe connects to the cold air plenum.

If you referring to the silver-grey pipe in the bottom right corner of the picture? It's the chimney/exhaust pipe for our gas water heater.
 

Last edited by Howitzer; 04-29-19 at 04:45 PM.
  #10  
Old 05-05-19, 11:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 186
PJmax (Pete) - any comments?
 
  #11  
Old 05-31-19, 08:21 PM
Jerr_Bear's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 3
cold air duct?

You have a RETURN AIR and a SUPPLY AIR. The return air sucks air from your living area and filters it as it goes back through you furnace/cooling coil. As the air leaves the furnace/cooling coil, that is then the supply air.
Now using this description, is this pipe connected to your return air or your supply air duct?
 
  #12  
Old 05-31-19, 09:28 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,221
Likes Received: 34
Generally speaking, you don't put a return in the same room as the furnace or a gas water heater so as to not take the chance of lowering the pressure in the rooms and creating any kind of backdraft on the chimney.
 
  #13  
Old 06-01-19, 09:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 186
Hey Jerr_Bear! The pipe is attached to the return air plenum...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes