Spike in Radon?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-19, 09:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: US
Posts: 277
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Spike in Radon?

I have a radon remediation system and it normally reads between 0.4 and 0.8 with a AirCheck meter. I don't look at it often, but last night the 1 day average was 1.75. It has since gone down to 1.18, so I guess it is back to normal. I have never seen a spike like that. Any idea what it is?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-19, 01:58 PM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Barometric pressure will cause it to move around. You are way under what is considered elevated.
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-19, 03:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: US
Posts: 277
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I know it is a safe level, but I was concerned because it was going up so sharply and I have never seen it above 1.0 before. It is down to 0.9 now, so I guess the pressure is back to normal.
thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-19, 07:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,375
Received 45 Votes on 38 Posts
Wind and water.
Pressure and petrichlor.

Have you ever noticed that on a really windy day, the water in a toilet bowl will bob up and down? That is from wind causing changes in air pressure. Same thing happens with the underground air that carries radon- air flowing around the house speeds up, that generates lower pressure which lifts the underground air into the basement.

Have you ever notice the earthy smell when it rains after a dry spell? Petrichlor. The rainwater displaces air in underground pores and forces the air up. Same thing happens with the underground air that carries radon.

Combination of the two will give you a spike as more "underground air" is moves through the basement.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-19, 08:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: US
Posts: 277
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That brings up another issue.

The pipe opens in to a space between my house and my neighbors. The wind gets really savage in there. Two years ago my pump broke. While I was waiting for a new one, I found the radon level on windy days was pretty low, but it went up to pre-remediation levels (which was only 4.5...) on calm days. That got me thinking about the pipe opening. It is a 90 pointed to my neighbor, so the wind goes across it. I wonder if it would be better to turn it so that it was facing away from the wind. The wind might create a low pressure that would help suck air out.

What do you think? Turning it would require cutting it and using a coupler, so it is not something I want to experiment with.

Oh, the days average is 0.7 now; since it was much higher this morning, it is probably really down to some thing 0.3 now.
 
  #6  
Old 12-06-19, 08:31 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 915
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I don't think you should have a 90 on that outlet. It should vent straight up just like your plumbing vents do.
 
  #7  
Old 12-06-19, 10:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: US
Posts: 277
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I looked at the manufacturers website and he shows it without elbows. Hmmm. I have an email into him to see if it matters.
Thanks for pointing it out.

Assuming he glued it, getting it off will be an awful job. I suppose it would be best to take everything apart rather then trying to cut it off 20' up.
 
  #8  
Old 12-13-19, 01:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: US
Posts: 277
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The manufacturer says they don't recommend an elbow on the end, but it can keep rain and debris out of the fan and might be a good choice.

I will try to remove it, but presume it is glued on.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: