Closing off slab vents and moving ductwork to ceiling

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-16-20, 11:09 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Closing off slab vents and moving ductwork to ceiling

I am considering purchasing a 1000 sf condo on a slab ---2BR / 1 Bath, galley Kitchen, LR/DR combo. There is small attic space. Is it possible to close off the vents in the concrete and route the ductwork into the ceiling...putting the round vents in the ceiling??? There is an existing gas furnace. I know that you cannot say for sure how much that it would cost but can I get a ballpark? TIA
 
  #2  
Old 08-16-20, 01:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,876
Received 1,342 Votes on 1,240 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

There would be no way to give any type of estimate for that without seeing it.
In order to route ductwork from downstairs or lower to upper level...... the ducts would need to be boxed out or run thru closets. That would require closets to be one above another.

What you want done is strictly custom work.
 
  #3  
Old 08-16-20, 01:07 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,449
Received 750 Votes on 689 Posts
So, the condo currently has HVAC ducting buried in the concrete slab and you want to relocate it to the ceiling? The first question is why would you want to go to such trouble and expense? It's a potentially major change if you want the new ducting buried within the ceiling but would be less expensive if you allowed the ductwork to exist below the ceiling either left exposed modern style or enclosed in a chase.
 
  #4  
Old 08-16-20, 01:16 PM
ferd42's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 234
Received 17 Votes on 17 Posts
I presume he's - rightly - concerned about moisture accumulation and/or mold growth inside the subsurface ducts. Don't know the age of the home, but a lot of those jobs were done with "Transite" (Asbestos) ducts.
 
  #5  
Old 08-16-20, 01:28 PM
ferd42's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 234
Received 17 Votes on 17 Posts
Another thing: You'd end up with a 1-1/2 ton unit @ 667 SF/Ton, which might improve humidity control if there's a 2 ton (...24... M/N) now.
 
  #6  
Old 08-17-20, 05:23 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ferd42...that is my exact concern. I am autoimmune compromised and therefore more susceptible to mold. I don't know the exact age of the central air / furnace units but they have been updated in recent years.
 
  #7  
Old 08-17-20, 08:25 PM
ferd42's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 234
Received 17 Votes on 17 Posts
Please give us indoor and outdoor unit M/N's if you can.

You might commission a certified IAQ Specialist to take measurements. Here's one Authority www.acac.org
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: