New Radon Fan Manometer Reading

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-07-20, 11:34 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Radon Fan Manometer Reading

My old fan was loud as heck so I replaced it with a best guess since the original was installed for the previous owner and had no s/n or identifiable markings. The new fan is whisper quiet but I'm concerned I may need to upsize it.

The old fan was reading about .4 or .5 on the manometer. The new one is only reading about .3. Is this a concern? It levels out correctly at 0 when turned off.

I am going to start a radon test in a few days (the kind that you send in for results). But am curious if anyone thinks I should upsize the fan no matter the results.
 
  #2  
Old 11-07-20, 01:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,869
Received 1,342 Votes on 1,240 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

As long as your fan shows a vacuum.... you should be fine.
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-20, 07:14 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,564
Received 159 Votes on 141 Posts
Agreed. Unless you have a significant radon issue (50-100+ pCi/L), really any air extraction will be sufficient. The fan is just pulling the air that may be contaminated instead of allowing it to seep through the slab and foundation.

I think you're all set with a working fan!
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-20, 07:58 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the responses and info!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: