Bathroom fan making low frequency humming noise

Old 12-04-20, 08:52 AM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bathroom fan making low frequency humming noise

I recently started to hear a consistent low frequency humming noise in my bedroom (2b2b). Using one app, I identified it to peak at 120 hz but the decibel is below noise level. Yet I can hear it at night and cannot sleep. The electricians of my apartment complex do not believe in me, since a decibel detector does not show a noise level sound. However, I do noticed one time the sound started and stopped, so I believe it is not my illusion.

I decided to find out by myself. By shutting power off one by one on the electric panel, I found the source as the bathroom fan circuit. I am not an expert, so I can only give the following interesting observation:

1. The sound peaks at 120hz and 60hz.
2. It peaks at certain points other than the bathroom, one point in my bedroom, and one point in front my bedroom door, and another point in front of my second bedroom.
3. It is gone only when I turn off both fans of bathroom 1 and 2.
4. If either fan of bathroom 1 or 2 is turned on, then I can hear the sound at all the points in (2) above.

Does anyone know what probably is going on?

Old 12-04-20, 10:04 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 747 Votes on 686 Posts
That's simple, you are hearing the fan running. The sound vibration is probably being transmitted through the framing of your apartment. If you pay attention you can also probably hear other people's tv's, washing machine...

Old 12-04-20, 11:24 AM
P
Thank you. I have been living here for 3 years and just notice that sound. I believe that sound is in the background of the fan running sound. And combining with the fact that when bathroom 2's fan is on, I can hear the sound on the other side in the bedroom 1, I am a little concerned.