Return Air Advice


  #1  
Old 06-03-24, 06:08 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 46
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Return Air Advice

I am moving my air handler to the garage from the attic. The new return will be fed from the conditioned adjacent office via a 20x20 grill. It is a 2 ton system, air only with heat strips, conditions a bathroom, office and master bedroom.

I would like to pull return air from the master bedroom (18' x 20').

Would a jumper duct from old return in master to office suffice? Or should I run the return directly from the existing old return in the master via flex to the garage and tap into the top of the return air box there?

The office has double doors which are open most of the time so I am not sure how much suction a jumper duct would pull.
#99J56j4F8BiWt
 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-03-24 at 11:20 AM. Reason: resized pic
  #2  
Old 06-03-24, 11:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,971
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
If you can still pull a car into the garage you need to make 100% sure there are no leaks in the air handler or thru the wall. Deadly emissions from the car cannot be allowed to get inside the house.

The 20x20 in the office will be the primary return.
It's always a good idea to have the A/C returns in the ceiling as hot air rises.
Adding a small return to the bedroom ceiling is a good idea.

I'm not sure how you are connecting the air handler to the return.
That would determine how you would connect the MB return.
An insulated flex duct would be ok.
 
  #3  
Old 06-03-24, 12:50 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 46
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes, my question is whether a jumper duct would work in returning hot air to the office return from the master instead of connecting directly to the AH. Will most probably run a 10" return from master to AH, instead.

My AH's sit on a framed in box and I would run the return flex directly into the return on the top of the framed box. Yes, I have sealed the first air handler and realized how poor of a job the ac contractor did, there were leaks everywhere.
 
  #4  
Old 06-03-24, 03:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,971
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
A jumper duct.... a connection from the MB to the office ?
I would not conditioner that as adequate.
You need a direct connection from the air handler return to the MB.
 
slynch401k voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: