Washer won't drain, spin

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-12-02, 07:32 AM
bigsmellybob
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Washer won't drain, spin

I have a Whirlpool Heavy Duty washer. It will fill, agitate, soak, agitate then stop. It will not drain & it will not spin. Lid switch is ok. Drain hoses are clear. Water will drain out of tub if hose is removed from water pump.

Is the washer supposed to drain completely then spin, or does the draining occur as the tub spins?

Not sure if I've got a pump, motor or transmission problem. May end up buying a new unit.

Any help?

Thanks for your time.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-12-02, 02:59 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Re: Washer won't drain, spin

Originally posted by bigsmellybob

Hi,

**I have a Whirlpool Heavy Duty washer. It will fill, agitate, soak, agitate then stop. It will not drain & it will not spin. Lid switch is ok.**

Lid switch, lid switch probe, lid switch wires would be first on the lsit of possible trouble makers. Washer "dead" in the spin mode?

**Is the washer supposed to drain completely then spin, or does the draining occur as the tub spins?**

Depends on model and style.
http://www.applianceaid.com/model.html

**Any help?**

Which style WLP washer do you have?
http://www.applianceaid.com/newpics/which_washer.JPG

http://www.applianceaid.com/washers.html

jeff.
 
  #3  
Old 08-12-02, 03:30 PM
bigsmellybob
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

My Whirlpool HD washer is a direct drive unit. Not sure about model/serial number yet. Will check at home and post again.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 08-12-02, 03:43 PM
bigsmellybob
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
PS: I've tried to follow your Direct Drive washer won't spin test...

http://www.applianceaid.com/direct-nospin.html

I don't see the clutch drum moving at all. Should it move/spin continuously or just move once to engage when the dial is pulled out?

When my cycle stops after agitating, I have to use the load size switch to reset the unit.

Do you need to know the model number to tell me if it should drain before spinning?

Thanks.
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-02, 03:57 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally posted by bigsmellybob


Hi,

**I don't see the clutch drum moving at all. Should it move/spin continuously or just move once to engage when the dial is pulled out?**

I take it the washer is running but not spinning?...the clutch drum should spin/turn continuously for spin.

**When my cycle stops after agitating, I have to use the load size switch to reset the unit.**

There should be a by-pass in the timer to by-pass the water level control so the washer can spin and keep spinning...or else once the WLC reset when the water was low enough the washer would start filling again rather than spinning.

**Do you need to know the model number to tell me if it should drain before spinning?**

Sometimes...a couple of different DD trannys. Most common will drain and slowly spin during wash water pump out...and pre-drain ( no spin ) during final pump out/spin...and then pause (off ) and start back up and kick into full speed spin.

jeff.
 
  #6  
Old 08-12-02, 04:13 PM
Clint
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
This washer is designed to drain without spinning. Are you sure it is not draining? I have seen a few of these washers get stuck in neutral drain and not spin but they always drain. Does the motor run or just hum?
 
  #7  
Old 08-12-02, 04:23 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

Originally posted by Clint
Does the motor run
I still haven't 100% been able to find this out
 
  #8  
Old 08-13-02, 12:20 PM
bigsmellybob
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I looked for a serial/model # for my Whirlpool Heavy Duty washer and about the only thing I could find was:

Stylemaster No. 907675

I'm real sure that the washer doesn't drain. It will Fill, Agitate, Soak, Agitate, Stop Agitating and that's it. At this point I don't hear/feel/see the motor running or humming. It just stops and that's it, end of show. No draining occurs. I believe the timer stops too. I don't think it advances at this point.

I've checked the lid switch for continuity when closed and it is ok. I'm pretty sure I have no clogged hoses anywhere. Disconnecting from the pump will empty the washer onto my basement floor quickly. I've removed the the two hoses (not sure of their technical names) that make their way to my waste lines and verified that they weren't clogged.

I've tried to cycle the machine on all the various settings (permanent, regular, delicates, superwash) and they all behave the same way. No draining, no spinning, no motor noises/actions.

Thanks for your help,
Dirty Shirt Sal
 
  #9  
Old 08-13-02, 03:41 PM
Clint
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
It really sounds like a bad lid switch. I have had those check good when doing continuity checks but the switch opens up when power is applied. I would unplug washer and take a piece of wire and jump the outer wires on the male connector plug to the lid switch. Do nothing with the green ground wire. This connector is under the console. Plug washer back in and put in spin. If it goes into spin then the lid switch is bad. If it still doesn't then I would suspect a timer problem or maybe a poor connection at timer or motor,but let's wait and see if Jeff1 has any more suggestions.

Clint
 
  #10  
Old 08-13-02, 03:52 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool

Originally posted by bigsmellybob
I'm real sure that the washer doesn't drain. It will Fill, Agitate, Soak, Agitate, Stop Agitating and that's it. At this point I don't hear/feel/see the motor running or humming. It just stops and that's it, end of show. No draining occurs. I believe the timer stops too. I don't think it advances at this point.

Hi,

A copy of some no spin trouble makers:
**NO SPIN.
Lid open.
Lid switch defective. ( Very Common problem )
Lid switch disconnect plug open.
Wiring harness.
Timer switches.
Motor.**

Lid switch: since lid switch ohms ok...we will presumme it is ok...wires to and from the lid switch?...esp that plug in harness under the consol. Lid probe is ok?

Timer: If the timer contacts are <A HREF="http://www.applianceaid.com/newpics/burnttimer2.JPG">blackened/burnt</A> the timer may be bad. The timer should have a built in by-pass to allow the washer to run ( drain ) with water inside.

Motor: I do not believe a bad motor would stop the timer from moving, but checking the wire harness at the motor is a good idea for any loose/burnt connectors.

WLC: Can be <A HREF="http://www.applianceaid.com/images/simplewlc.JPG">ohmed</A> with an ohm meter.http://www.applianceaid.com/electric...ting_tips.html

Style # doesn't help...but I checked a few generic DD wiring diagrams and looks like Lid switch/lid switch wires/timer/WLC/WLC wires could stop motor and timer at the same time.

jeff.
 
  #11  
Old 08-13-02, 03:52 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Talking

Originally posted by Clint
see if Jeff1 has any more suggestions.

Have I ever shut up??????????????????? LOL!!

jeff.
 
  #12  
Old 08-14-02, 05:35 PM
RichLINY
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm not a repair tech, but my friend had a similar problem recently.

It turned out that the little plastic "doo-hickey" that is on the lid that presses into the lid switch when the lid is closed had fallen off.
We think it had been snagged by a piece of clothing upon removal.

Unfortunately, we realized it was missing after tearing apart the machine. LOL !

See if yours is missing.
 
  #13  
Old 08-14-02, 07:02 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Originally posted by jeff1
Lid switch probe is ok?
Originally posted by RichLINY
It turned out that the little plastic "doo-hickey" that is on the lid that presses into the lid switch when the lid is closed had fallen off.
Howdy,

I call it a lid switch probe, but I like your "little plastic doo-hickey" name better...I am adding it as an official "tech term"

jeff.
 
  #14  
Old 08-14-02, 07:22 PM
RichLINY
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
LOL !
 
  #15  
Old 08-15-02, 08:46 AM
ggratecc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Clint said:
It really sounds like a bad lid switch. I have had those check good when doing continuity checks but the switch opens up when power is applied. I would unplug washer and take a piece of wire and jump the outer wires on the male connector plug to the lid switch. Do nothing with the green ground wire. This connector is under the console. Plug washer back in and put in spin. If it goes into spin then the lid switch is bad. If it still doesn't then I would suspect a timer problem or maybe a poor connection at timer or motor,but let's wait and see if Jeff1 has any more suggestions.

Clint
------------
Hi, I would like to jumper the lid switch as described above,
I have a Kenmore 80 , 110.28892790 about 5 years old.
Can someone tell me how to get to the "male connector plug"
so I can jumper it?
thanks,
Greg
 
  #16  
Old 08-15-02, 09:52 AM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool

Hi,

Many direct drive washers have a plug ( under the consol ) for the lid switch...you can undo/use that plug to bypass the lid switch...stay away from the green wire!!

<img src="http://www.applianceaid.com/images/lwawp-lid-switch-unplug.jpg">

<img src="http://www.applianceaid.com/animates/ddanimnew.gif">

jeff.
 
  #17  
Old 08-15-02, 10:01 AM
ggratecc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Talking lid switch

Jeff,
thanks for the quick reply!
I think I can take the console off, with your animated
gif showing how (I only wish I could pause the animated gif).

When I looked at the switch last night, It appeared there
was a clear air hose going to the plastic molded switch.
Does that make sense or am I seeing things?

regards,
Greg
 
  #18  
Old 08-15-02, 03:31 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Re: lid switch

Originally posted by ggratecc


Howdy,

**with your animated gif showing how (I only wish I could pause the animated gif).**

This should help...it is a slide show...
http://www.applianceaid.com/newlinks.html

**When I looked at the switch last night, It appeared there
was a clear air hose going to the plastic molded switch.
Does that make sense or am I seeing things?**

Make pennies to me...that is an air tube...the switch is sealed...that tube lets air in and out so the switch part inside can move to open and close.

jeff.
 
  #19  
Old 08-16-02, 04:47 AM
DaisyDo
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

I had this happen a couple months ago, and found that my washer would not spin until a certain amount of the wastewater had drained out.
I pulled the hose off and the pump out and voila~! I found several treasures my washer had tried to digest. Sock bits, a necklace,a dollar's worth of change, a pocket knife and of course some pebbles compliments of our 3 sons!
Once I cleaned all this out and hooked everything back up, the washer has worked just fine.
Hope your repair is this easy!
 
  #20  
Old 08-16-02, 07:54 AM
ggratecc
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Jeff,
thanks again for the reply.
Last night I used your photos to removed the lid switch.
I jumpered the switch and of course, the spin cycle worked.
Now , I will order the part and put it in.
thanks again.
Greg
 
  #21  
Old 08-16-02, 01:36 PM
RichLINY
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
So that's where the missing socks always end up ! LOL
 
  #22  
Old 08-16-02, 03:44 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Originally posted by DaisyDo
I pulled the hose off and the pump out and voila~! I found several treasures my washer had tried to digest. Sock bits, a necklace,a dollar's worth of change, a pocket knife and of course some pebbles compliments of our 3 sons!
Once I cleaned all this out and hooked everything back up, the washer has worked just fine.
Great tip DaisyDo!!

***************************************************

Originally posted by ggratecc
Last night I used your photos to removed the lid switch.
I jumpered the switch and of course, the spin cycle worked.
Great!! Thankx for the update

***************************************************

Originally posted by RichLINY
So that's where the missing socks always end up ! LOL
LOL!! Mystery solved.

**a dollar's worth of change**

Loose change...that's where some appliance techs get thier coffee money from

jeff.
 
  #23  
Old 08-16-02, 08:43 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Loose change...that's where some appliance techs get thier coffee money from
I think I gottne about $7 with of changed on one dryer I worked on a while back! The ower said Keep it!! That's your tip! :-) Lot of was burried under all the thick blanket of lint!
 
  #24  
Old 08-16-02, 09:44 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally posted by Jay11J


I think I gottne about $7 with of changed on one dryer I worked on a while back! The ower said Keep it!!
Jay,

A story I probably shouldn't tell....an apt owner called and ordered a new coin operated dryer be delivered. I set up the new coin slot and coin box on the new dryer for them. We went to deliver the new dryer. She asked us to take away the old dryer, when I moved the dryer...clink, clink, clink could be heard inside. I quickly went to tell her the dryer probably has....she interuptes me and says " I asked you to take it away"...so I tried again to explain that I heard...now she is cross with me and tells me to take the "damn dryer away"...by now I have little sympathy for her, and we cart the dryer away. I drilled out the coin box and timer locks...the coin box was sooooo full of quarters that they over flowed into the timer area and dead shorted out the timer...probably why they ordered a new dryer, this one quit working. A long story short...I removed $110.00 worth of quarters from this "damn dryer" I bought coffee for a week for all the guys

jeff.
 
  #25  
Old 08-17-02, 10:19 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
I bought coffee for a week for all the guys
WOW!! That's alot of coffee!! I bet Starbuck liked ya! :-)
 
  #26  
Old 08-17-02, 10:22 AM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool

Originally posted by Jay11J


I bet Starbuck liked ya! :-)
Eh...There wasn't many StarBucks up here then...just <A HREF="http://www.timhortons.com/">Tim Hortons</A>.

jeff.
 
  #27  
Old 08-18-02, 08:54 PM
Fyxxez
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Only a week? And just coffee? They still make good beer up there don't they , EH?
 
  #28  
Old 08-19-02, 03:03 AM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Smile

Originally posted by Fyxxez


**Only a week?**

I am cheap OK!!

**And just coffee?**

Some got Tea instead!

**They still make good beer up there don't they , EH?**

I normally don't drink, I guess our beer is still good, a Scotish bar opened up across the street this summer...I have had a couple of Dark Genny ale.
jeff.
 
  #29  
Old 09-23-06, 10:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Angry Whirlpool/Stylemaster 907675

Did you ever find out why your washer wouldn't agitate? I'm having the same problem ... although I think it's the motor - humming ... waiting for my fix-it man ... but saw this and wondered if there was a quick solution?
 
  #30  
Old 09-27-08, 07:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Same no drain/spin Issue

I have the same issue
HELP. Im to cheap to replace it !

Kenmore Model 110.82671110, SN: C71010842

Symptoms: Washer fills with water, washes but will not drain or spin.

Actions taken to date:

1. Bypassed the Lid switch and the washer drained and started to spin(did not let it complete). Purchased a new switch and replaced it. When finished replacing the lid switch, I re-started the load. It did not complete. Once again I attempted the bypass nothing happened.

2. Drained the water by lowering the drain hose into buckets in an attempt to see if it was the pump. Machine did not spin.

3. Checked for blockage in the drain line (actually I did that while making a mess on the floor in the step above) all was clear.

4. Unplugged the machine for 1 hour in hopes it needed to be rest. Nothing.

5. Restarted a new load (actually the same load as it still has soap in it) the machine filled, agitated and stopped at the drain cycle.

6. Moved the dial to the last drain cycle after draining again (this time remembering the buckets, and had a mop handy). The machine started the rinse cycle, and stopped at the drain cycle. The timer did not advance after an hour.

7. You'll love this...... I left it plugged in over night the timer did not move. I forgot it was plugged in. I thought about bypassing the lid switch at the connector to rid myself of a short. When i lifted the control panel it started to drain (I had the screws removed from the control paned)
 
  #31  
Old 09-27-08, 11:45 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Is this machine mechanically controlled? Or is it digital with a control board in it? If it is just mechanical I'd say likely the timer. If digital, I cannot advise, as I have not had to deal with these, yet. Timers may cost from about $130 or less. Depends on how many cycles/settings there are.
 
  #32  
Old 10-11-08, 11:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Won't Spin

I have a Whirlpool Stylemaster 907675 that won't spin, It will agitate and drain it just won't spin. How can I fix this. I unplugged the lid switch and it still won't spin.
 
  #33  
Old 10-12-08, 01:32 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Originally Posted by seanwiggins9 View Post
I unplugged the lid switch and it still won't spin.
To Sean,

It surely won't spin now!

You could have a mechanical or electrical problem with the lid switch. A mechanical problem would be say if the part that does the plunging into the lid switch is worn or out of alignment. You can test THIS by getting the switch to press in with say a screw driver. But if you hear a click by opening and closing the lid, at the switch area, then that cause is not it. Then it is inwardly failed in the switch itself. You would have to jumper the switch WIRES together, to bypass the switch, and then see if it works.

[If you do something like this, be sure to unplug the washer while making this temporary test hookup!, and make sure your jumper metal is not touching any metal on the machine. THEN plug inthe machine and try it and see. Speed up your test by just going directly to the spin cycle.]
 
  #34  
Old 11-04-08, 11:27 AM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 1
Smile

Want to express my thanks for the information I was
offered and the fix for my Whirlpool top load with a no
spin problem. By passing the lid switch proved the switch
is bad. Many thanks from a 80 year old with limited resources.
oldcrossthreadhttp://forum.doityourself.com/images/smilies/smile.gif
http://forum.doityourself.com/images/smilies/smile.gif
 
  #35  
Old 04-18-10, 08:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Washer only drains after I lift the lid...

My washer works fine until it gets to the drain cycle... then, if I lift and close the lid... the drain pump kicks on. This works every time if I'm willing to stand there while washing a load.

Is it the switch?
 
  #36  
Old 04-18-10, 02:28 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,271
Likes Received: 9
1st try tightening the screws to the lid hinge on the left side, 2 screws on side of lid, Give model # and brand so we know what washer you are talking about.
 
  #37  
Old 09-02-10, 08:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: U.S.
Posts: 1
Or it could be a sock

My daughter added "one more thing" to the washer full of sheets. She didn't know that you need to push it down below the water line, so it skipped out of the tub and into the pump hose. That's why the motor hummed. If the little plastic flywheel doesn't spin readily, that's probably it. Flywheel is located at the bottom right hand corner of our GE Prodigy (wsse4220) behind the front panel.

A wet/dry vac came in REAL handy for sucking up all of the water that came out of the pump hose and into a shallow pan (after scooping most of the water out of the tub with an empty milk jug that was cut like a scoop). Vice grips were also helpful for holding open the clamp on the hose while putting the hose back on. Tight space. Helpful to have a buddy.
 
  #38  
Old 09-14-10, 07:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 90
Lid switch problem

I also have a whirlpool washer/dryer combo that was not draining/spinning. I was all set to tear open the machine but thought I'd read some posts first. Glad I did.

As it turns out mine was very simple. The liquid bleach dispenser had dislodged slightly preventing the lid from closing completely and activating the lid switch. The lid was raised just slightly so I didn't notice it but just enough to not activate the switch.
 
  #39  
Old 09-08-14, 10:36 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Duct Tape!

OK, I'm a musician not a technician, but I am glad I found this post before shelling out money for a repair guy. I have a Whirlpool top load with this same problem. When I put my hand under the hood to check on that lid switch it seemed to be dangling. Two screws got the switch out. The plastic case that is the switch was in two pieces - it came apart, rendering the switch useless (because as the lid closed, instead of engaging the switch it just pushed the bottom half of the switch's box down)...

I used duct tape to close the box back together, screwed the switch back into place and problem solved. I don't know how long this fix will last, but if I have to go back at this I will probably try one of those plastic zip ties.

Anyway - this was an easy fix, 5 minutes to find and read enough of this post to know I should check out the switch, 5 minutes to fix it, and 5 minutes to get the washer to finish its cycle and prove how much of genius mechanical wizard I really am!!! OK, not - but I'm pretty happy how this turned out.

Thanks to all for the previous posts.
 
  #40  
Old 09-08-14, 04:37 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,271
Likes Received: 9
Glad it worked for you. Don't know how long it will last with duct tape could be 5 minutes of 5 years.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes