Washing Machine Grinding Noises

Old 04-25-04, 06:42 AM
E
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Washing Machine Grinding Noises

Bought a used washing machine about 3 months ago - Inglis Superb PLus - probably 10 years old - couldn't find a model or serial number.

Today it made a grinding noise when it started the spin cycle & water leaked on the floor during the cycle. Not a lot but enough.

I've never worked on a washer before. I have tools & am not afraid to use 'em.

Can somebody please get me started in the right direction?

Chris

Old 04-25-04, 10:11 AM
E
If someone could just point me to a web site, I would really appreciate it.

(I can't even figure out how to get the back off this thing!)

Old 04-25-04, 11:00 AM
Admin Emeritus
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello: Chris

Suggestions:
Read the manufacturers online web site for problem possibilities, solving methods, disassembly, reassembly methods, repair procedures, pictorials, downloadable repair manuals, etc which may be available online.

Search the manufacturers web site for a >downloadable version of the owners or service manual.< The file will be a pdf file opened with Adobe, which also needs to be downloaded first but worth having once obtained.

>Do an online search for the model by appliance brand name< or use a search engine web site like goggle etc. This web site also has help info. All of which can be found in the >banner above< at the top of this page.

Retail appliance parts dealers can also help determine what the possible problem may be. Bring the make, model and serial numbers. Many dealers and or appliance parts stores are willing to provide help to sell parts..

Appliance part stores and dealers are listed in the phone book. May find some help on the pages listed at the top of this page in the banner topics.

The machine may have developed a pump leak. Which may have been indicated by the grinding noise. Coupled with the water leakage it is reasonable to assume such is possible.