GE Washer makes clicking sound when the cycle should start...

Old 09-09-04, 06:10 PM
fireblade600
Visiting Guest
GE Washer makes clicking sound when the cycle should start...

I have a GE washer (model #WJSE3110A0WW) that makes a clicking sound when the wash cycle should start. The tub fills correctly and the lights on the front light up indicating the correct wash cycle.

I removed the control panel and identified the relay that is making the noise. Is the relay bad or is it something else? I unplugged the washer for 30 minutes but it's still not working.

Please see below, I included more information...

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by fireblade600; 09-09-04 at 09:24 PM.
Old 09-09-04, 06:51 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
washer

i am not a pro but my washer is doing the same thing and the pro's said to replace the timer. good luck

Old 09-09-04, 08:27 PM
fireblade600
Visiting Guest
The "timer" in my washer is digital. It's connected to a control board. A link to the diagram is HERE

The part I believe I need is #35

I de-soldered the relay that was making noise and replaced it with the exact same type of relay from another location on the board, just to see if the relay was the problem. I expected the "bad" relay to make the noise at the different location, and perhaps get different operations from the washer, but it did the same thing. This time the relay that wasn't making noise at it's original location was making the clicking sound at the location of the "bad" relay in the "bad" relay's original location. It seems the relay is not the problem. Does this make sense? Could there be something that's not allowing the motor to move thus making the relay click?

Last edited by fireblade600; 09-09-04 at 09:25 PM.
Old 09-09-04, 09:01 PM
fireblade600
Visiting Guest