Kenmore Dryer Keeps Running even with Door Switch removed

Old 10-05-04, 09:20 PM
jeoffdryer
Visiting Guest
Kenmore Dryer Keeps Running even with Door Switch removed

Our front-load Kenmore dryer, about 5 years old, has developed a condition where it does not stop if the door is opened. It will stop only if the timer is turned to off.

I took out the door switch and ohm'ed it out and was surprised to find that it seems fine. It works as expected. I am a Electrical Engineer by trade and am sure of this.

I was even more surprised when I found that the dryer works even with the switch removed. My understanding from looking at some schematics online was that this switch controls the Neutral to the spin motor. I believe it should not be possible for the machine to run with the switch completely removed.

I've found lots of information about the opposite problem - dryer won't turn on. Does anyone have any insight that could help me? I will promptly respond to any requests for additional information or test suggestions.

Thanks,
Jeoff

Old 10-06-04, 04:27 AM
bigjohn1
Visiting Guest
The schematic should be in the console. Using it, you should be able to track down the problem.

Old 10-06-04, 06:29 AM
Admin Emeritus
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello Jeoff. Welcome to the Do It Yourself Web Site.

With the door switch disconnected or removed, the dryer should not operate. Possibly a short in the wiring. Using the schematic and an ohm meter, trace the wires. Run a continuity test on them. Also to the connection points. Likely find where that short is located.

Retail appliance parts dealers can also help determine what the most likely possible problem may be. They will need the make, model and serial numbers.

Appliance parts dealers are an excellent source for original replacement parts and problem resolving matters. Dealers are listed in the phone book under appliances.