GE electric stove Ceramic top replacement


  #1  
Old 11-29-04, 08:16 AM
jfevans
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
GE electric stove Ceramic top replacement

How do I replace the ceramic top on my GE electric stove? The top is cracked and broken in many places because a heavy object was dropped on it. Only one burner does not have a crack across the surface.

Does the top have screws or bolts from the bottom? Does it just sit on top of the seal, so that it can be lifted out of the recess around the edge of the the stove top?

I have ordered the new replacement top, so I am hoping that I can replace it myself.

Thanks for your help.
 
  #2  
Old 06-16-08, 03:18 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile I have the same thing just happened with my GE Stove.

Originally Posted by jfevans View Post
How do I replace the ceramic top on my GE electric stove? The top is cracked and broken in many places because a heavy object was dropped on it. Only one burner does not have a crack across the surface.

Does the top have screws or bolts from the bottom? Does it just sit on top of the seal, so that it can be lifted out of the recess around the edge of the the stove top?

I have ordered the new replacement top, so I am hoping that I can replace it myself.

Thanks for your help.
*****Did you replace your stove top and if so how was it done. I dropped a cabinet door on it and it is cracked very bad. Please let me know if possible that I can replace it myself or not.

NC Lawman
 
  #3  
Old 06-17-08, 10:40 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
open the oven door look up and you will see screws. Undo them. Slowly lift top up as far as you can, probably a few inches only. With a stubby screw driver undo the elements from the range cooktop. Undo whichever wires are needed to free the old top completley. I would start the old screws in the new cooktop first while it is off the stove it makes it easier during the re-instal process.
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-09, 05:07 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hm...

well, looks like i'm not the only person who has encountered this problem . . .

jfevans (or whomever), where does one order a ceramic top for a ge stove? i also decided to break mine with a cabinet door.
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-09, 05:38 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
after checking the ge website, i've come to realize that my stove doesn't exist. the model number (which is located on the upper left corner of the storage door) is "j bs55w0k1ww"; which according to ge, does not exist.

this seems to be complicating things a lot more than necessary.

help. someone. please.
 
  #6  
Old 04-18-09, 06:29 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Remove the space between the j & b in the model number. I just Googled it and had numerous hits... j bs55w0k1ww to jbs55w0k1ww.
 
  #7  
Old 04-18-09, 02:18 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes, you'll get numerous (7, without omitted results) "hits". however, none of them are relevant to anything.
 
  #8  
Old 04-18-09, 05:23 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,021
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
try taking out the 0 between the w and the k. Is your cooktop white?
if yes part # WB62T10268
sears- almost $400
repair clinic- $250
ebay-$300
appliance parts pros $223

I have had problems with APP lately.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: