No Water to Icemaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-20-05, 06:47 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No Water to Icemaker

I cannot seem to get water to the icemaker.

I check and cleaned the little filter in the valve.

I checked the solenoid with a meter and it appears to be OK.

What now? I didn't though check to see if there is voltage to the valve though. If there is, then what should I look for next?

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-21-05, 10:43 PM
nomind's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: langley, in sunny fraser valley, bc , near vancouver
Posts: 1,132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi ridiculi,
-I would first remove the input water pipe and check for adequate supply. The needle valve in the pipe it comes from often plugs up.

Do it Right - Do it once.
 
  #3  
Old 02-23-05, 05:05 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Say, can the needle valve be replaced or is that not a good idea using the same hole.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-05, 05:22 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Check for water to the solenoid like nomind said is so ok. But most of the time its the solenoid. It just cheap" ha "till you buy it. Most of the time its the same one on the washers hunidifiers and ice makers. Its best to get a new one if thats it. They build up with lime and calcium on and around the piston shaft.

They also have them as two together for the ice and the water. Like me. I just had to get a new one for just the ice only one is bad . But oh know had to pay for and get the double one for ice and water. Its the only one that will fit there now

ED
 
  #5  
Old 02-23-05, 06:38 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's not the solenoid. i tested it with a voltmeter and its ok. I also tested it manually by applying 110 to it, hooked a line to it and it opened and water flowed out.

Now I checked voltage of the leads to the solenoid and it wasn't 110. Very low so maybe the switch?

Still, can I rplace an old needle valve with a new one(essentially using same hole) or must I just put the new one in a new location. Probably better to install a real valve though.
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-05, 03:13 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

If you know how to solder Id for sure tap in a T and put the valve in the pipe. Saddles valves are just a mess some times. Check the wire schermatic for the switch

ED
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-05, 09:49 PM
nomind's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: langley, in sunny fraser valley, bc , near vancouver
Posts: 1,132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi ridiculi,
- as Ed says, saddle valves are a mess. -But you don't need to solder. There are dissimilar compression Tee fittings available. ie, 3/8-3/8-1/4, which should do it. (The modern comp. fittings with inserts fit both solid and flexible pipe) Cut out the hole and fit comp Tee there. Try HD or any good plumbing store

Do it Right - Do it once.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: