Maytag Atlantis won't spin

Old 07-16-05, 04:53 AM
DMan
Visiting Guest

Hello,

Our Maytag Atlantis MAV7600AWW wont spin. I am handy but I am unsure where I should begin to investigate. Can someone suggest a plan for what I should look for, in what order?

Old 07-16-05, 07:58 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not a applicance expert, but I would turn the unit on its side, or remove the cabinet, and jumper the 'imbalance' safety switch to rule out the switch. I think they are mounted on the cabinet shell are are easy to locate.

Old 07-16-05, 12:59 PM
G
The lid switches

EDIT,
Some times they fall off and you dont see them, take a good look.

Last edited by GWIZ; 07-16-05 at 01:13 PM. Reason: more info
Old 07-16-05, 01:01 PM
Dag nab it! Why didn't I think of that! Duhhh!

Old 07-16-05, 05:00 PM
DMan
Visiting Guest
Well I flipped the unit on its side and saw the motor is definitely turning during the spin cycle but the basket does not turn. (I also verified that it does not spin when the washer is upright.) So the motor works, the belt is intact, but no spin action.

If the motor works, why is the basket not spinning? I tried spinning the basket by hand when the unit was off and it is VERY hard. I recall this unit had some sort of brake when you opened the lid. Could it be that the brake is stuck?

Funny, I assumed that when I flipped the unit on its side and try to spin, the motor would not work because it might detect that its unbalanced, but the motor did work. So if the motor is spinning and the pulley underneath the basket is spinning, how does the basket de-clutch from the shaft?

Thanks for your help thus far.

Last edited by DMan; 07-16-05 at 06:55 PM.
Old 07-17-05, 06:18 AM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
one direction the brake is released and the other direction is for agitation was there any resistance in 1 direction if not yhe spin bearing/cam is bad and comes in a kit with trans pulley and a new style bearing.... instructions included...