I have a Fridgidaire question too

Old 09-03-05, 10:20 AM
Silicone
Visiting Guest
I have a Fridgidaire question too

My Fridgidaire fridge is about 3-4 years old. I have found the freezer frosting up in the back, and then the fridge will get up to about 55-66 degrees. I'm assuming the cold air is not getting down there, to keep the fridge cold. I'm no expert on fridgerators.But can someone tell me if that fan in the freezer is supposed to run 24/7. I think maybe the thermostat is broke ? I've been defrosting it..and then the fridge will get back to normal, and then the frost comes back. As a temp...fix ..i'm fixing to put an appliance timer into the wall, and then plug it in that way.. HELP ME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Old 09-03-05, 02:42 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Could be many things.What is the model #.

The fan should not be running all the time. only till the desired temp is reached, which,in your case, only happens after you defrost it manually.. It runs when the compressor runs. Is you compressor runnung 24/7 too.

The frost is building up and preventing the cold air from flowing over the coils so no air is moving. This happens a few days after you defrost the freezer manualy.

The cold air from thef reezer flows into the ref to cool it. No air flow in freezer =no cold ref.

Need the model # to tell if you have adaptive defrost=no timer or regular with timer.

Old 09-03-05, 03:14 PM
Silicone
Visiting Guest
model #

#frt21lr7ab4

Old 09-03-05, 04:37 PM
J
A computer board ADM controls your defrost. Look at this page and you will see what I mean.

http://www.partselect.com/ModelFrame...pliance&Mark=7

The box on the left where it says defrost heater cold control is the adaptive defrost module[printed circuit board]