GE Potscrubber 640 dishwasher detergent cup won't latch

Old 09-29-05, 06:42 AM
johnMmphs
Visiting Guest

The detergent cup on my GE Potscrubber 640 dishwasher won't latch. If you close it, it swings open. I removed the door, but can't figure out what makes it latch. Tell me what do I do to repair? Thkx!

Sponsored Links
Old 09-30-06, 05:30 AM

I've run into the identical problem. I'm new to this forum and if you could direct me to any information you received to this question, I would be very grateful. Thanks.

Old 09-30-06, 07:11 AM
Welcome to the DIY forums Morty/Eddelleh

I am no pro but I did some research on GE dishwashers in general. Here's what I found directly from there site in the FAQ section found here:

http://www.geappliances.com/service_and_support/faqs/

"The Dishwasher Soap Cup Will Not Close

* For models with a timer knob and a "turn-to-close" detergent cup, check to see if the timer has advanced to the "OFF" position. Models with a timer knob must be in the "OFF" position for the detergent cup to close. Turn the control knob from the off position, clockwise, all the way around, and back to the "OFF" position. Then try again to close the cup.

* For models with a "turn-to-close" detergent cup and an electronic timer, press the "START" pad once. After about 10 seconds, press the "START" pad again. This will reset the control. The detergent cup should now lock shut.

* For electronic models with a push to close detergent cup, check to be sure the cup is not overfilled with powdered detergent. If it is, remove the excess detergent. If using a detergent tablet, be sure the tablet is not so large as to prevent closure of the cup cover. If it is, reposition the tablet or break it into smaller pieces.