Whirlpool Electric Range Door Locked

Old 12-01-05, 11:29 AM
Jerms
Visiting Guest
Whirlpool Electric Range Door Locked

Hello,

I'm new to this site and need some help with my Whirlpool electric range. My wife was using the auto clean feature on it over the weekend and about half way throught the cleaning cycle she decided the smell of it cleaning was too much for her and our baby so she pressed the off/cancel button to stop it and walked away. Much later after it had cooled down she noticed that below the clock it was displaying "Locked" and the oven door will not open. Also, there is an error code "E1 F5" on the display. I tried calling Whirlpool because nothing is mentioned in the manual and they know nothing. They referred me to a service place but they will not trouble shoot it over the phone, of course. Anyway, I know this should be a fairly easy fix and I have extensive electrical knowledge.

Thanks in advance for your help...
Jerms

Whirlpool Electric Range RF388LXKP
approximately 1 1/2 years old

Old 12-01-05, 04:57 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would say to play around with the clock. I have seen stickers on self-clean ovens in regard to the clock. Can't remember what though. I am just guessing on this, but I bet there has to be an electrical avenue between the clock and the heat and the lock and if you alter this some how, you have to make it known to the lock that the time has expired that it is safe for the electrical to go ahead and unlock. So, I believe the key lies in doing something with the clock.

And if Whirlpool can't tell you what to check for, I would be blunt and tell them that will be the LAST Whirlpool ANYthing you ever buy and you will tell friends and mention it all over the net, like you did here, for one place.

Old 12-04-05, 07:59 PM
Jerms
Visiting Guest