GE dishwasher - Detergent Door Will Not Open!

Old 03-28-06, 09:55 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GE dishwasher - Detergent Door Will Not Open!

Hello everyone. I am new here, but I did use the search function and I could not find an answer for my issue. Sorry if this post is a little long, but any help you can offer is greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to offer your advice and tips.

I have a GE GSS1800H01WW, Serial MF700788F, it is an 18Ē built-in dishwasher. I bought it brand new, but stored it in its original crate for a couple years before installing it at my new home about 10 months ago. I have been using it for 10 months trouble free, about 2-3 uses per week, but the last 3 wash cycles Iíve ran all produced the same result Ė the detergent door does not open.

So I searched your site and other online help areas and Iíve done the basics including making sure the detergent door is not obstructed, it is not. So, I removed the front access panel and closed the dishwasher and ran a wash cycle to try to witness the steps the machine makes when running.

The wax motor is not triggering the detergent door to open. However, the mechanical (plastic) linkage that operates the detergent door works fine. With the machine door closed and the front access panel removed, I can press the plastic lever where the wax motor plunger normally would contact it, and the detergent door opens just fine.

So, my problem is that the wax motor plunger does not expand out of the wax motor. So, I did the following: I removed the two electrical leads from the wax motor and placed my Ohm meter across the wax motorís electrical tabs. I get 1982 Ohms (give or take a few Ohms), I tested this a few times and each resulted in about the same reading. This reading took place with the wax motor electrical leads disconnected and the machine not running.
Is 1982 Ohms out of the wax motorís tolerance?