Kenmore Elite Icemaker stopped working

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-23-07, 07:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
Kenmore Elite Icemaker stopped working

I have a Kenmore Elite refrigerator with the water dispenser in the door. The water dispenser does work, but the icemaker does not work. The people at Sears told me to replace the water filter which didn not help. Could anyone help me out with this? There seems to be only 1 water line going to the refrigerator so why would only the water dispenser work but not the icemaker?

Scott
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-23-07, 04:38 PM
The Whit's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Danbury
Posts: 1
Same problem

I've got the same problem. In the freezer section at the top is an "Ice Maker Control." The only control is an on-off switch, but there is a little light there which is flashing red. No indicator why it is flashing. And no luck finding a manual for the Kenmore Refrigerator or Kenmore Coldspot either in my files or on the web. The unit is now ready for a new filter, which I have yet to buy. I did push the filter reset button on the refridgerator side control panel.

Hmmmm.
 
  #3  
Old 06-24-07, 03:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
I replaced the selonoid and it still does not work. Does anyone have any other ideas?.
 
  #4  
Old 06-24-07, 07:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 393
The Whit, The flashing red light is indicating there is a problem with the ice maker itself. As a servicer, I just replace the ice maker and they have ice again. Unfortunately, they are not cheap.

Scott, what is the model number of your fridge? Check for ice blocking the fill tube to the ice maker. There also could be a problem with the ice maker itself.
 
  #5  
Old 06-24-07, 11:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
The model # is: 106.749.19400
I did take the icemaker itself out of the freezer and let is stay at room temp on the counter for and hour. I put it back in the freezer and it doesn't work still. There is not any ice or water in the fill tube.
 
  #6  
Old 06-24-07, 04:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 393
You can pull the white front cover (fan assembly) off the ice maker to do some checks. There are several holes with letters next to them where you can do some voltage checks with a volt meter. L-N should give you line voltage (120V A/C). You can take a piece of wire to short T-H to bypass the thermostat on the ice maker. If it starts rotating, leave the wire in for about 7-8 seconds or you hear a little "click". The ice maker then completes its cycle. If it completes and fills with water, the thermostat might have failed. Also check for a broken connection between the big gear and the shaft. If the mold is in good shape, you can replace the module.

Check out this link (cut and paste) for some more information.

http://www.american-appliance.com/catalog/newsdesk_info.php?newsPath=12&newsdesk_id=34

Keep in mind it could take several hours before the ice maker will start to function after letting it sit at room temperature. The thermostat will prevent the ice maker from running until it reaches about 15 degrees. That brings me to another point. Check to insure your freezer is getting cold enough. It shoud be around 0-5 degrees.
 
  #7  
Old 06-25-07, 12:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
This is good information. I did notice that it sounds like something is running when the arm is down on the icemaker, but it water is not getting to it. It sounds like a fan. I don't see how to service it without removing it from the freezer or atleast unscrewing it from the side.
 
  #8  
Old 06-25-07, 04:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 393
If the ice maker has failed it will not get water. The icemaker sends the voltage to the valve to fill the ice maker with water.

If I remember correctly, yours has a water dispenser. One thing you can do is go behind the refrigerator, swap the connectors at the valve and you can check if the ice maker fills with water by calling for water at the door. Keep in mind either the door needs to be closed or press the switch so the refrigerator "thinks" the door is closed. You don't want to activate it for more than 7-8 seconds because you can overfill the ice maker. That will at least check if that circuit is functioning.
 
  #9  
Old 06-26-07, 04:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
I ws not able to swap the cables on the selenoids becasue they are different sizes. I did run the checks like you suggested. L & N verified 120 volts, T & H verified 120 volts. When I shorted out T & H nothing happened. I assume this means that I need a new icemaker or module.
 
  #10  
Old 07-08-07, 04:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 90
I replaced the entire icemaker and it works properly. Thank you for all of your help troubleshooting it. That is what this website is all about.

Scott
 
  #11  
Old 06-16-13, 10:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 1
tested

hey i tested for 120v and did not have it at L-N did the jumper and nothing. Tested plug in back of freezer and got 120v. I am assuming this means bad ice maker. What do you think.
 
  #12  
Old 06-16-13, 02:06 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,296
Likes Received: 1
If you have a receptacle in the freezer which shows voltage, switch your meter to ohms and check across the prongs of the ice maker plug. If you show an open circuit with the icemaker in the on position, you will have your answer.
Depending on how old your fridge is, you may want to use ice cube trays and save your pennies for a new fridge - or replace the ice maker.
 
  #13  
Old 06-16-13, 03:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,928
Likes Received: 149
You didn't give us much information to go by so it's kind of hard to make a diagnosis.

Make and model of fridge ?
Is there ice currently in the tray ?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes