GE Profile washing machine doesn't spin


  #1  
Old 07-21-07, 01:03 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy GE Profile washing machine doesn't spin

As stated in the title, when we started doing laundry this morning the machine seamed to woerk as normal until it got to the spin cycle. The unit does drain and when the tub is empty you can hear something running but the tub doesn't spin then afte a minute or so the machine just turns off.

The washer is about 2 years old model # WPRB8050D1WW. I have tried to reset the electronics by unplugging the unit for a few minutes and it stll did the same thing when I tried the drain & spin mode.

Any ideas on what I should check or try first???

Thanks for any and all help.
 
  #2  
Old 07-21-07, 02:08 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have done a little more testing and found that when set to the small or med load size the unit doesn't fill with water (at all). And when set to the large setting only about 6 inches of water fill the tub and when set to super it overfills the tub and floods the laundry room. I have tested this with the washer empty and with cloths and it does the same thing.
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-07, 02:52 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Videos and Pic now posted

I took a couple videos with my digital camera so you can see what the washing machine is doing. I removed the magnet from the lid so that I could shoot video with the lid open.

Sorry I guess html isn't turned on for me yet so you'll have to cut and paste the strings below to the address bar.

Here's the machine set to a Small load.
http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...y/media/543446

Here's the machine set to a Medium load.
http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...y/media/543447

Here the Large setting.
http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...y/media/543448

Here's a pic of the level it stops at when set to Large load.


Here's the washer agitating after stopping on the Large load setting..
http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...y/media/543450

Here's the Super setting.
http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...y/media/543451

Still filling on Super.
http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...y/media/543452

Still filling on Super.
http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...y/media/543453

Overflowing tub on Super setting.
http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...y/media/543454

Tub drained by pump but no spin (long video).
http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/...y/media/543455
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-07, 10:06 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Talking Washer now fixed

GE repairman just left, the problem was blockage in a pressure sensing line that controls the water level in the tub. He cut about 1" fromt the end of the hose were the blockage was and all works fine now. He only charged me for the service call $69.95.
 
  #5  
Old 07-23-07, 03:13 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry for no replies. And because you updated us anyway, that makes your post extra special. Maybe you will get helped the next time here, hopefully.

But what confuses me is you seem to have what I would have presumed to be unrelated issues. I can't see how the lack of water pressure in the pressure line would affect the ability of ther machine to spin - as long as the machine first agitated. Did it?
 
  #6  
Old 07-23-07, 06:49 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the machine did agitate, just wouldn't spin. From what I was told the pressure sensing thingamajig threw everthing out of whack so it had no idea how much water was there and therfore wouldn't let it spin.
 
  #7  
Old 07-24-07, 07:16 AM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That is a new one on me because any machine I have worked on, first the fill valve sends water into the tub, and as it fills, water enters the water pressure switch tube and when the pre-selected fill height seting is reached, the pressure switch is 'satisfied', it stops filling, and only then it will begin to agitate, and if it knows enough to agitate, then it knows enough to keep advancing the timer till it gets to the drain and spin cycle. I am wondering if there was some other glitch as well with your machine that just went away, like something with the lid switch.
 
  #8  
Old 12-08-08, 08:11 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rocky Mountain Wilderness
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you jeffnoel!!!! We were having the same problem with our washer, it was not filling and would agitate but not spin. Sure enough, we found a blob of goo in the pressure sensing line. We cleaned it out with warm water and vinegar (not feeling confident about cutting anything) and Presto! a working washer!! Thanks again!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: