Frigidaire Affinity Dryer (No heat) Element NEW


  #1  
Old 11-16-07, 05:20 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: coquitlam bc canada
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Frigidaire Affinity Dryer (No heat) Element NEW

Our 10 month old New dryer (affinity series) still under warranty, all of a sudden developed an error message in the display screen that says ' AD ' ?? (BTW Google doesn't bring up anything on this). So we phone repair warranty dept and they sent a guy around, who thought like us, that the heating element went bad. He replaced it,, gave it a 30 second test.. ( heat ) . then he left .

We then filled the dryer with a nominal load, and after 40 minutes I checked it, clothes were all cold and damp, and found the 'AD' Back on again in the display screen as well all the dryer button lights were flashing. I unplugged the dryer for a few minutes (to reset the circuit board chip,) plugged it back in,, dryer comes on with what I believe was heating but it just turned out to be cold air., after 5 minutes the dryer quit and the lights flashing and AD in display screen.

Is this a circuit board problem rather than an element problem??
 

Last edited by ttodd; 11-16-07 at 05:22 PM. Reason: spellcheck
  #2  
Old 11-16-07, 06:50 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
How do you know AD is error code? Maybe it means Auto Dry? (also coincidental it is an Affinity Dryer - AD, get it?) In auto dry you have a resistor and it won't heat and advance the cycle properly if resistor is shot, for example.

What are all the setings you have tried?

And have you checked to make sure that your circuit breaker or at least one of two fuses (if you have fuses) has not blown?

We can get into other typical issues that get discussed about dryers here, but I'd first like an answer to these things.
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-07, 07:30 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: coquitlam bc canada
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The circuit breaker is back to the main box is set on two switches in panel both are snapped on, ( power) snapped off no power . The AD in display panel.. the AD stands auto dry ( i found in manual), but the AD should only come on after clothes has dried and the coolness against the hot clothes will prevent wrinkles etc, Trouble is the clothes are cold and damp when this cylcle comes on., Plus the dryer stops after 5 minutes and all the lights are flashing ?? for but in the ten months we have had this new dryer it has NEVER once ever displayed this Lettering.
The settings used is Normal/ maximum heat / .

But I do like your suggestion about the circuit panel. I think these computerized chips and circuit boards would be defective , in that, The dryer is being to not allow heat and only do air fluff /No Heat ( which is one of the settings , along with towels /heavy duty/delicates/perma press/ normal / touch up/timed dry . )
 

Last edited by ttodd; 11-16-07 at 07:35 PM. Reason: spellcheck
  #4  
Old 11-16-07, 07:49 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Can't you just put clothes in Auto Dry and have them do a hot drying cycle? You should, I would think. All the pre-digital dryers that had Auto Dry would have this feature. The 'cool down' would occur at the END of this cycle after the clothes were dried with heat first.

Like I said, if a resistor goes out in this setting it wil not dry and advance. The resistor is located in the control panel with wires going to the timer. It my look like a piece of ceramic. The wiring diagram, oftenfound in the control panel will list the resistor and ohms of resistance. Then you test it with an ohm meter at the two termianls and see.

Does your dryer have a timed dry cycle, where you can set it by the minute to dry? If so, have you tried that setting? In older dryers, if the resistor was shot on auto dry, the clothes would still get hot and dry in the timed cycle.
 
  #5  
Old 11-16-07, 08:16 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: coquitlam bc canada
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I tried timed cycle for 60 minutes on maximum high .., and like I said earlier after five minutes the dryer stops and the lights flash and the clothes?? cold and damp ..

The circuit card is what the repair should bring with him for our warranty work.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: